Library Resources for Administrative Leadership

Collection of 1,000 ebooks in most humanities disciplines. You can only read or print one page at a time from a computer screen.

Features the works of Harold Bloom, often noted as one of the world's most renowned literary critics. The collection incorporates several specialized series, including Bloom’s Classic Critical Views, Bloom's Guides, Bloom’s Literary Themes, Bloom’s Modern Critical Interpretation, Bloom’s Modern Critical Views, Bloom’s Shakespeare Through the Ages and Bloom’s How to Write About Literature.

Children’s Core Collection covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian—both periodicals and books—is also covered. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists, books within Children’s Core Collection encompass a wide variety of topics, including social sciences, science, math and reading.

ClinicalKey is a point-of-care resource for health care professionals designed to provide clinicians with answers quickly. ClinicalKey includes a wide range of content types to satisfy clinical information needs: books (1,000+), journals (500+), videos (13,000+), practice guidelines (2,000+), images, patient education handouts, and drug monographs.

The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for Open Access monographs. DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.

Early English Books Online has over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

A collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. The Libraries have subscribed to the Academic Complete collection as well as purchased access to selected individual titles.

Ebsco's eBook Collection offers the content of thousands of books in an electronic format. Formerly called NetLibrary.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)is a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm. Access includes the original base collection of 135,000 volumes (ECCO I) plus a 45,000 volume supplement (ECCO II).

The digitized collection, HathiTrust, includes the CIC libraries (Big Ten) and the University of California System. Full-text of works that are out of copyright or in the public domain are available for viewing or searching. The items are also in Google books but have greater availability and searchability.

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for nearly 170 leading history periodicals, more than 112,000 historical documents, 113,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 112,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.

Knovel is a collection of over 4500 handbooks, dictionaries and proceedings in technical disciplines. Full text is searchable by keywords and numeric property values. Contains interactive tables, graphs, and equations. Data from tables can be manipulated and further imported in an Excel spreadsheet.

Online portal helps students and practitioners (BSNs and RNs) better understand challenging clinical concepts with image-based, interactive content—including 30 core, foundational textbooks and supplemental interactive digital material

The Middle and Junior High Core Collection is a selective list of fiction and non-fiction books recommended for children and young adolescents (grades 5 through 9), along with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Selected and recommended by collection development specialists in library service to young people, listed books encompass a wide variety of topics for youth.

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.

The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost and have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.

OpenStax from Rice University offers free, online educational materials and textbooks, some of which can be printed at an affordable price

Collection of ebooks and audiobooks that can be checked out with a UWM username and password for up to 21 days. User Guide

Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period collection contains 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, along with extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays specially commissioned for the project

Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW-Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.

The Senior High Core Collection is selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory and curriculum support in the high school library. Senior High School Core Collection lists review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.

The SpringerLink platform provides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols and reference works.

Taylor & Francis eBooks provides access to select titles across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Sciences, and Law.

Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Full text access is limited to subscribed or purchased titles.