UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: AADS 232: Survey of African Societies and Cultures: Plan Your Research

Strategies for Planning Your Research

Watch the three videos: 1.Mind-mapping to Plan Your Research 2. PREsearch Before you REsearch, and 3. Brainstorming Keywords. Use the arrow commands below the media player to move on to the next video.

Explore Topic Ideas

Use these reference sources to explore topic ideas for your final project

Note-- These are not scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: use these to explore topic ideas and find search terms, not as sources for your final project.

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Encyclopedic coverage of world musics by expert contributors, organized by continent and region. Includes images and audio examples.

Contemporary African Art
This website has images and brief guides to African art and artists.

Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia [4 Volumes] by Ken Albala (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
This encyclopedia has articles about food culture from numerous countries and cultures around the world, including a wide variety of African countries.
Encyclopedia of Africa by Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0195337700
Publication Date: 2010-02-17
The Encyclopedia of Africa focuses on African history and culture with articles that cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa

Black Past: Global African History
BlackPast.org is an online history encyclopedia dedicated to providing comprehensive, reliable, and accurate information concerning the history of African Americans in the United States and people of African ancestry in other regions of the world.