UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Social Welfare Research Resources: Research Policy

Policy Research

A policy is an an intervention that aims to mitigate or solve a public problem. As you do your research, consider the actors/groups involved in policy formation and influencing the agenda and the information sources they create to communicate policies. Actors may include: special interests or advocacy groups, government officials and organizations, academic scholars, think tanks, media, etc.

1. Recognize, define, and quantify the problem

CQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher gives reports providing analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news. Topics covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Large collection of US newspapers, many in full text, as well as news sites, blogs, and newswires from the 1980s to the present (dates vary by title). Includes The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. Part of Global Newsstream.

2. Identify the objectives and define the details of the policy or program. Consider:

How will the program be implemented and by which agency or organization?
How should the law or program be interpreted?
How will resources (budget, personnel, organizational units) be allocate?
How and by what criteria will the policy or program be evaluated

3. Collect evidence and data

3. Examine current and alternative policies

Find existing policy programs, legislation, and funding
What policy tools have been recommended or implemented?
- financial: taxes, sanctions, grants
- legal: legislation, regulation
- educational/informational
- rights and prohibition

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
The database indexes and provides full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.
USASpending.gov
USAspending is the official open data source of federal spending information,
including information about federal awards such as contracts, grants, and loans.
OpenSecrets
Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, OpenSecrets is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
GAO, often called the "congressional watchdog,” is an independent, non-partisan agency that works for Congress. GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, non-partisan, fact-based information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
CBO is strictly nonpartisan; conducts objective, impartial analysis; and hires its employees solely on the basis of professional competence without regard to political affiliation. CBO produces numerous reports with specific options or broad approaches for changing federal tax and spending policies.

Policy Research Reference Materials

A Practical Guide for Policy Analysis by Eugene S. Bardach; Eric M. Patashnik
ISBN: 9781506368887
Publication Date: 2019-08-22
Drawing on more than 40 years of experience with policy analysis, best-selling authors Eugene Bardach and Eric M. Patashnik use real-world examples to teach you how to be effective, accurate, and persuasive policy analysts. The Sixth Edition of A Practical Guide for Policy Analysis presents dozens of concrete tips, new case studies, and step-by-step strategies for the budding analyst as well as the seasoned professional.
Handbook of Public Policy Analysis by Frank Fischer (Editor); Gerald J. Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781574445619
Publication Date: 2006-12-21
Presenting a broad, comprehensive perspective, the Handbook of Public Policy Analysis: Theory, Politics, and Methods covers the historical development of policy analysis, its role in the policy process, and empirical methods. The handbook considers the theory generated by these methods and the normative and ethical issues surrounding their practice. The Handbook of Public Policy Analysis: Theory, Politics, and Methods describes the theoretical debates that have recently defined the field, including the work of postpositivist, interpretivist, and social constructionist scholars. This book also explores the interplay between empirical and normative analysis, a crucial issue running through contemporary debates.
Handbook of Critical Policy Studies by Frank Fischer (Editor); Douglas Torgerson (Editor); Michael Orsini (Editor); Anna Durnova (Editor)
ISBN: 9781783472345
Publication Date: 2015-12-18
Critical policy studies, as this volume illustrates, challenges conventional approaches to public policy inquiry with its focus on discursive politics, policy argumentation and deliberation, and interpretive modes of analysis. Assembling the voices of established and emerging scholars, the Handbook of Critical Policy Studies fills a major gap in the policy literature. Moving beyond the false neutrality of empiricism and positivism, this Handbook highlights the responsibility of inquirers to take account of social and political context - including present conditions, past trends and prevailing power relationships - to advance inquiry that relies not only on experts but also on citizens in a manner supporting and encouraging democracy.

Databases for Policy Research in other Disciplines

For more subject databases, search databases by subject.

GenderWatch
GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International is a composite of ten contributing databases covering women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship from throughout the world. Corresponds to Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-); New Books on Women & Feminism (1987-); Women of Color and Southern Women 1975-1988, and annual supplements (1989-); WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies, and other databases and print publications. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, and audiovisual materials relating to women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused scholarship.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO)
ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines.
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
PubMed
Over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, open access journals (PMC), and online books and reference sources (Bookshelf). Useful For: systematic reviews, clinical trials, Trending Articles, Cited By
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier indexes over 5,000 academic journals, trade journals, and business magazines covering all business disciplines, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. It also includes collections of industry reports, company profiles, and country economic reports.