PREVIEW IIIF Viewers - Mirador - Digital Collection Toolkit - UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

IIIF How-to's

To try Mirador viewer, you will need the address of a Mirador viewer instance.

Library's Mirador viewer - https://liblamp.uwm.edu/IIIF/mirador3.html

To view IIIF resources in the Mirador viewer, you need to construct the URL of the IIIF Presentation API manifest. The following is the formula to generate the manifest URL of resources in the libraries' digital collections.

https://[CONTENTdm Server Address]/iiif/info/[Digital Collection ID]/[Item ID]/manifest.json
- CONTENTdm Server Address: cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org or collections.lib.uwm.edu
- Digital Collection ID
- Item ID
example:
- https://collections.lib.uwm.edu/digital/collection/mke-polonia/id/33962
- https://cdm17272.contentdm.oclc.org/iiif/info/mke-polonia/33962/manifest.json

Note: The IIIF Manifest URL is linked in the digital collection. Access the object's metadata to copy/paste the URL into the Mirador Viewer.

Follow the video tutorials on the next tab to explore the Mirador viewer.

Mirador 3 Introduction

Mirador 3 Workspace export/import

How to get IIIF manifests from UWM Libraries Digital Collections:
- Navigate to the UWM Libraries Digital Collections site - https://uwm.edu/lib-collections/
- Locate the image you want to view. For example World 1452 from AGSL Digital Map Collection
- Find and click the Mirador Viewer icon at the top-right corner of the page. A new window will open.
- The address of the new window will be
  https://collections.lib.uwm.edu/digital/custom/mirador?manifest=https://collections.lib.uwm.edu/digital/iiif-info/agdm/538/manifest.json
- The highlighted part of the address will be the manifest of the corresponding item. Copy that part of the URL to use in a Mirador exhibit or for other purposes.
- For more information, please visit the CONTENTdm IIIF API reference page.
How to find external IIIF resources:
- There is no single portal for all IIIF compliant collections as of now. However, check out the IIIF Consortium's Explainer:
  - https://iiif.io/explainers/using_iiif_resources/#how-to-use-iiif-resources-and-image-viewers-to-work-with-images-across-collections
- The IIIF Consortium is building a site that points to IIIF repositories, though it is selective and not regularly updated. However, there are some great resources here as well tips for locating the IIIF manifest in various records:
  - https://guides.iiif.io/
Examples of other IIIF repositories:
- Stanford digital collections - "Spotlight at Stanford" https://exhibits.stanford.edu/
  https://exhibits.stanford.edu/fitch/catalog/kb487gt5106
- Harvard Art Museum: https://www.harvardartmuseums.org/collections?
  item link: https://www.harvardartmuseums.org/collections/object/330590?position=2
  manifest: https://iiif.harvardartmuseums.org/manifests/object/330590
- Digital Bodleian: https://digital.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/

Mirador Guide: Screen Captures

Start with an empty Mirador viewer by using the following link: https://liblamp.uwm.edu/IIIF/mirador3.html. Click "Start Here" to begin adding images to the viewer.

Click "Add Resource." You will be prompted to add the URL of an IIIF Resource.

To find the resource location, navigate to a UWM Libraries Digital Collection. When you have located the image that you want to add to the Mirador Viewer, click the "M" located on the top right-hand corner of the image's page. Next, click the "i" located at the top right-hand corner of the page to view the image's metadata. Scroll down to "Links," and copy the link listed as "IIIF Manifest."

Paste the IIIF Manifest link and click "Add."

The image, or IIIF Resource, is now listed in the Mirador Viewer. To open the image, click the listing.

In the upper left-hand corner is the Toggle Sidebar. Click the sidebar to access information about the image.

In the upper right-hand corner, the first button accesses "Window views & thumbnail display" where you can choose to view images in single, book, and gallery view. You can also turn off thumbnails or reposition them. To add another resource to the viewer, click the blue circle "Add Resource" button in the upper left-hand corner, then click "Add Resource" at the bottom right-hand corner.

Repeat the earlier process to add multiple resources to the Mirador Viewer. Navigate to the desired image in a digital collection, click "M" to open the image in the viewer, then "i" to access the image's metadata, scroll down to "Links", and copy the link listed as "IIIF Manifest." Paste the URL in the "Resource Location" field, and press "Add."