UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: WGS 500: Gender, Sexuality and Imperialism (Historical Perspective): Find Primary Sources

Citing Reprinted Primary Sources

Citing Primary Sources found in Secondary Sources
This guide from the University of West Florida gives instructions on how to cite primary sources that are embedded in or reprinted in secondary sources.

Historical Newspapers

Visit the Historical Newspapers Guide
This guide is your jumping off point for historical news sources of all formats including major and small press publications.

Databases and Digital Collections

Europeana
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources)
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)is a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm. Access includes the original base collection of 135,000 volumes (ECCO I) plus a 45,000 volume supplement (ECCO II).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource, including a wide variety of previously unavailable primary sources ranging from books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, and maps. Archival modules 1-12 include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children’s Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World through the Lens; Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 Part I and II; and Women: Transnational Networks.

Harvard University Digital Collection of Images on Colonialism
Made up largely of late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers, this collection offers insight into European perspectives on varying aspects of colonial experience by documenting how popular perceptions of Asia and Africa were created and disseminated.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries is a collection of diaries, journals and letters of women who lived in the British Isles for a significant period of time between 1500 and 1900. Some materials are written by famous individuals, but this is not a requirement for inclusion. A typical example: Jane Austen's letters to her sister will be found here, but not her fictional works.
Alexander Street - History
Search key documentaries, commercial and governmental newsreels, public affairs and archival footage.
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
Collection of books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights. It contains over two million page images, searchable by keyword.