Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UWM Libraries databases for literary criticisms. They can only be accessed at UWM.
Gale Literature Criticism
Browse works – title – whole and partial criticisms
(will also work with a basic search)
*Literature Criticism Online brings together backfiles of several literary series from Gale: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
MLA International Bibliography
Advanced search “Things fall apart” (title of work)
- Check "scholarly journals" box
- Check "linked full text" box
- Can add “colonialism” or “tradition”, etc.
*MLA International Bibliography indexes international scholarly materials, including over 4,400 journals, books, working papers, and conference proceedings on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. It is updated 10 times a year.
-Begin a general search for Articles using Search@UW
-Limit Topic to Literary Criticisms
* Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.
Black Literature Index
Black Studies Index allows users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online has over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource, including a wide variety of previously unavailable primary sources ranging from books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, and maps. Archival modules 1-12 include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children’s Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World through the Lens; Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 Part I and II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period collection contains 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, along with extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays specially commissioned for the project
Open Access/Internet Resources
What databases can I use when I'm not at UWM?
BadgerLink is available at your public libraries and provides access to some of the same databases that UWM has. However, the interface may be different.
Databases that works well for literature are Literary Reference Center and Humanities International Complete.