Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Congressional / Legislative History Sources
ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to primary sources from Congress - text of bills, the Congressional Record, Hearings, etc. The first version of the Bill will include the Sponsor. H.R. = House of Representatives; S = Senate; R/D = Republican/Democrat. A Bill that passes will have a Public Law # based on the Congress #.Use the database filters to narrow to known date ranges or publication type (e.g., Legislative Histories, Bills, Public Laws).
HeinOnline includes several congressional databases, including the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (the documents behind the process of a bill becoming a law), U.S. Presidential Library, and U.S. Statutes at Large (containing all the bills that actually became law - most don't).
CQ Researcher Online
CQ reports provide analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news, including select congressional laws.
Vintage U.S. Treasury Dept Propoganda Poster
Poverty Data and Reports
Poverty Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Census Bureau provides poverty data from several household surveys and programs. Here you can find poverty estimates, learn about these surveys and programs, and get guidance on how to choose the right estimate for your needs
Census Income and Poverty Publications
Publications about Income and Poverty from the US Census Bureau.
Poverty Estimates, Trends, and Analysis (ASPE, HHS)
Outlines and visualizations of poverty in the United States summarized by the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation from the department of Health and Human Services.
University of Michigan Poverty Solutions
Poverty Solutions leverages the assets of the university to provide insights on preventing and alleviating poverty. This work can affect the lives of millions of Americans through partnerships with community groups and policy makers to test the most promising solutions possible.
This site features publications, projects, initiatives, and more.
Institute for Research on Poverty
The University of Wisconsin institute for Research on Poverty has a slew of National and state research on Poverty and Welfare.
Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE) Program (U.S. Census Bureau)
Provides annual estimates of income and poverty statistics for all school districts, counties, and states. Program data is used for the administration of federal programs and the allocation of federal funds to local jurisdictions. State and local programs use the data estimates for distributing funds and managing programs.
Data estimates included:
* total number of people in poverty;
* number of children under age 5 in poverty (state-level only);
* number of related children ages 5 to 17 in families in poverty;
* number of children under age 18 in poverty;
* median household income.
Who is Poor in Wisconsin?
From the University of Wisconsin, this map and resource from the Institute for research on Poverty uses the Wisconsin Poverty Measure to show which counties have higher, lower, or similar to national average levels of poverty.
Wisconsin Poverty Report
Each year the Wisconsin Poverty Report helps determine an accurate accounting of poverty among Wisconsinites. It is conducted and released by the Institute for Research on Poverty at the University of Wisconsin.
This page, from WISCAP hosts the report, the summary, and press release for the WPR.
Wisconsin ALICE report
ALICE report data is collected and reported by United Ways across Wisconsin to report on the realities of working families and household stability.
ALICE stands for Asset Limited, Income Constrained, Employed, which are roughly 42% of WI households.
The State of Working Wisconsin
Released biannually on Labor Day and reported by COWS, The State of Working Wisconsin, looks comprehensively at the economy from the perspective of working families in Wisconsin. Each even year a full report is released and each odd year facts and figures come out.
Poverty Reports - World Bank
The World Bank's approach to measuring and approaching global poverty is through a wide-angle approach. This site includes reports, data, and reports on Global Poverty using World Bank metrics.
Global Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI)
Annual data from the United Nations Human Development Reports focuses on illuminating inequalities and was developed jointly by the Oxford Poverty and Human Development Initiative (OPHI) and The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).
The World Poverty Clock
Live interactive "clock" that provides real-time estimates until 2030 for almost every country in the world until the end of extreme poverty, one of the UN's first sustainable development goals.
it also calculates the current rate of poverty reduction in the world.
Poverty and Health - World Health Organization (WHO)
The world health organization (WHO) stresses the fundamental importance of developing "pro-poor" health policy, which are outlined on this page and reports it links to.
Library Databases for locating History and Social Science Journal Articles
America: History & Life
America: History and Life is an excellent resource for researching United States history, including the history of government and policies.
Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts indexes literature focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database indexes the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including law and public administration/policy.
Military & Government Collection
This database has full text for over 400 military related periodicals and general interest magazines. It also contains primary documents in U.S. history and international history.
History Reference Center
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for nearly 170 leading history periodicals, more than 112,000 historical documents, 113,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 112,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 provides full text coverage of a wide range of primary and secondary documents, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. Women's History, as well as images and links to other websites. Online access is to the Basic Edition.
Poverty and Welfare Policy
US Federal Poverty Guidelines used to determine financial eligibility for certain federal programs.
Policy research on homelessness from the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation of the Department of Health and Human Services.
SNAP data and Research
Policy data, research, and analysis from the US Department of Agriculture's Food and Nutrition Service, which administers the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP).
Information on Federal laws for administering State and Tribal TANF benefits, which are distributed as block grants.
TANF Data and Reports
Data and reports from the Office of Family Assistance (OFA), which administers Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF). They are broken down by benefits for states and benefits for tribal entities.
HUD Affordable Housing Research
Topics of HUD policy research include assisted housing, vouchers, public housing, and section 8 policy research and analysis.