Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law, Criminal Justice, and Other Useful Statistical Sources
Academic Law Library Statistics
Published by the Association of Research Libraries. Also includes some statistical information on medical library statistics.
American Bar Association's Statistical Resources
An extensive, though not exhaustive list of links to law-related statistical information. The websites themselves are not endorsed or supported by the ABA.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
From the website: [Contains] information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
Child Abuse Statistics
Compiled by Jim Hopper, a researcher and therapist with a doctorate (Ph.D.) in clinical psychology.
Legal Education Statistics
Published by the American Bar Association.
Statistical information published by Mothers Against Drunk Driving.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics presents data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1000 tables.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
A collection of U.S. statistics on social and economic conditions. In recent editions, "Section 5. Law Enforcement, Courts, and Prison." contains data on crime, victims, arrests, and convictions.
State & Federal Statistics
Court and Justice Statistics
Published by the Wisconsin State Law Library.
Fed Stats - Crime
Includes statistics from the Bureau of Justice Statistics, Bureau of Prisons, the D.E.A., F.B.I., and the Office of Immigration Studies.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Raw data is available for download from many U.S. and international agencies in pdf, SAS, and other data formats. The online Data Analysis System (DAS) provides a mechanism for analyzing data from multiple sources.
Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics
The USSC is tasked with providing data for federal judges to consult during sentencing in order to help ensure consistent and fair sentencing ranges. This report includes data on federal sentences and appeals. Includes data by district.
Wisconsin Data Sets
Wisconsin Law Enforcement Network (WILEnet)
For data and updated information on criminal justice and juvenile justice programs.
Wisconsin Department of Justice
For data and updated information on violence against women programs.
Wisconsin Office of Justice Assistance, Statistical Analysis Center (SAC)
NOTE: The 2013-2015 biennial budget for Wisconsin eliminated the Office of Justice Assistance, thereby transferring its programs to the Department of Justice (DOJ), Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM) and the Department of Corrections (DOC).
The SAC produced a wide-range of statewide statistical reports on justice topics and and the Justice Data Portal to provide public access to crime and arrest data. Data types included:
* Crime and Arrests
* Sexual Assaults
* Juvenile Arrests
* Hate Crime
* Drug Arrests
* Disproportionate Minority Contact
* Law Enforcement Employees
Justice Statistics Document Library - Wisconsin Office of Justice Assistance
Primarily PDF documents. Use the Contact option to request access to the associated data files.
Criminal Justice Data
There are three primary methods used to measure and collect statistics on the nature and extent of crime. Each has its benefits and limitations:
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Official data derived from crimes known to have occurred that are recorded by law enforcement agencies. The FBI’s Uniform Crime Reports data tool often leads to the most comprehensive source for this type of data in the U.S.
National Crime Victimization Survey
Victim data derive from surveys which ask people about their experiences with crime. This type of data is useful for understanding unreported crimes that do not appear in official data sources. The BJS National Crime Victimization Survey is frequently a good source for data of this type in the U.S.
Monitoring the Future Survey
Self-Report data attempt to assess the true extent of various crime patterns by measuring such things as a person’s attitudes, values, personal characteristics or behaviors. The Monitoring the Future Survey is an example of data that is gathered to understand drug use among juveniles.