Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until December 31.) JSTOR archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
HeinOnline is a legal research collection that features full-text searching of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials. Pages are reproduced exactly as they appear in their print counterpart, including all graphics, footnotes and page numbers. Collections included in HeinOnline are: Law Journal Library; Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law; Code of Federal Regulations; Criminal Justice in America: U.S. Attorney General Opinions, Reports, and Publications; Federal Register Library; Foreign Relations of the United States; GOA Reports and Comptroller General Decisions; Gun Regulation and Legislation in America; History of International Law; John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection; Legal Classics; Pentagon Papers; Religion and the Law; Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law; U.S. Code; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Congressional Serial Set (partial); U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Presidential Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; U.S. Supreme Court Library; U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library; Women and the Law (Peggy); and World Constitutions Illustrated.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service has citations and abstracts to federal, state, and local government documents, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research in the field of criminal justice. Some publications are available in full text.
The Homeland Security Digital Library provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy.
LearningExpress Library is a collection of web-based test preparation tools and skill-building materials for children, teens, and adults. Each of several Learning Centers (elementary to college and graduate school level) offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and e-books for learners of all ages to improve test preparation and test-taking skills. Includes sections on prep for GED, SAT, ACT, LSAT, PRAXIS, GMAT, CLEP, GRE and TOEFL tests. Also includes U.S. citizenship, job search & workplace skills, courses for Spanish speakers, and other job market skill-building tools. Sample tests for the GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and GMAT are included in this database.
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
The database indexes and provides selected full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).
Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes over 12,000 journals and 120,000 conference proceedings with the strongest coverage in the sciences (over 8,500 journals), followed by social sciences (over 3,000 journals), and arts and humanities (over 1,700 fully indexed journals). Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. For impact factor information about specific journals use Journal Citation Reports.
CQ Researcher gives reports providing analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news. Topics covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Our subscription to Westlaw: Campus Research provides law, news, and business-related research. Full text access to federal and state law cases, legal subject guides, law reviews, statutes and administrative materials, legislative materials and legal encyclopedias.