Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index of articles in communication and mass media, communication sciences and disorders. It does include some full text.
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebrations by Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebrations: A Country-by-Country Guide explores major holidays and festivals in 206 countries. The first two volumes are organized alphabetically by country. The third volume features overview articles that provide detailed information about major holidays celebrated around the world, as well as articles on major world religions. Country entries include: general information, including location, population, government, languages, religions, and national holidays; a brief introduction to the country's origins, geography, economy, current lifestyle and culture, and cuisine; subsections on national holidays, religious holidays, regional holidays, and rites of passage; subentries on holidays, including the date it is celebrated; who celebrates it; and a description of the origins, symbols, and rituals associated with the celebration/commemoration; and further reading. Entries on internationally observed holidays include: holidays in an international context; at-a-glance information on the origin, alternate names, dates of observance, and who observes the holiday; an introduction; a detailed description of the origins and history of the holiday; and how it is observed; and further reading. Entries on religious communities include: at-a-glance information about the size of the community and its place of origin; an introduction to the religion; the origins and history of the community; the way in which the community celebrates/commemorates the holiday; and further reading. Two hundred black-and-white photographs complement the text, along with numerous sidebars and callouts focusing on fun facts relating to specific holidays. Additional features include calendar systems around the world, regional maps, indexes by holidays and countries, and a comprehensive index.
Call Number: GT3930 .E53 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Mass Motorization and Mass Transit by Mass Motorization and Mass Transit examines how the United States became the world's most thoroughly motorized nation and why mass transit has been more displaced in the United States than in any other advanced industrial nation. The book's historical and international perspective provides a uniquely effective framework for understanding both the intensity of U.S. motorization and the difficulties the country will face in moderating its demands on the world's oil supply and reducing the CO2 emissions generated by motor vehicles. No other book offers as comprehensive a history of mass transit, mass motorization, highway development, and suburbanization or provides as penetrating an analysis of the historical differences between motorization in the United States and that of other advanced industrial nations.
Call Number: HE5623 .J658 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Ancient Astronomy by An authoritative introduction to the fascinating topic of archaeoastronomy--ancient peoples' understanding and use of the skies. * Over 200 A-Z entries covering broad definitions and concepts, case studies from five continents, themes and issues, objects in the sky as the focus of myth, basic concepts, and influential people * Vibrant illustrations including the stone circles at Avebury, comets, novae, and meteors * Simple, jargon-free explanations of basic astronomical concepts * Over 40 images including the Stonehenge Heelstone at dawn; the Cosmic Axis at the Forbidden City, Beijing; the Temple of the Sun at Teotihuacan; Ahu Huri at Urenga, Easter Island; the Aboriginal stone configuration at Lake Bolac, Victoria, Australia; and more
Call Number: QB16 .R84 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The Encyclopedia of Money by A comprehensive introductory resource with entries covering the development of money and the functions and dysfunctions of the monetary and financial system. * 350 fully updated A-Z entries on the deveopment, functions, and dysfunctions of money, banking, and credit systems, including 85 new to this edition * Dozens of photographs and illustrations of coinage and paper money from different times and places * A glossary of key terms such as gross domestic product, capitalism, float, credit default swaps, and solvency * An index offering access to entries by several criteria, including individuals involved and countries affected
Call Number: HG216 .A43 2009
Publication Date: 2009
CQ Researcher gives reports providing analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news. Topics covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.