Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online and Distance Education Library Services
Online students and faculty have full access to the UWM Libraries print and electronic collections.
Interlibrary Loan Services
The Interlibrary Loan Department will make every effort to scan any articles or book chapters that are needed for your course. If the book is on Reserve or in our stacks, we can scan the needed material. If it is not held in our library we can request it from elsewhere, but be aware that there may be a delay in receiving it as many libraries are closed due to COVID-19. Please submit all requests via ILLiad- https://wisconsin.hosts.atlas-sys.com/nonshib/gzn/
If you currently have an item checked out through interlibrary loan/ILLiad that is overdue or coming due, we are working with other libraries to have the due dates extended. We will email individuals with any new due date we are given.
ACLS Humanities Ebook
ACLS Humanities E-Book is a digital collection of over 1,000 ebooks in most humanities disciplines. You can only read or print one page at a time from a computer screen.
Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Ebsco's eBook Collection offers the content of thousands of books in an electronic format. Formerly called NetLibrary.
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary)
A collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. The Libraries have subscribed to the Academic Complete collection as well as purchased access to selected individual titles.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of specialized reference sources. Titles include: Contemporary Black Biography, Business Plans Handbook, International Directory of Company Histories, College Fellowships and Loans, College Blue Book, Writer's Directory and many others.
Knovel is a collection of over 4500 handbooks, dictionaries and proceedings in technical disciplines. Full text is searchable by keywords and numeric property values. Contains interactive tables, graphs, and equations. Data from tables can be manipulated and further imported in an Excel spreadsheet.
MATERIALSnetBASE is an ebook subject collection that provides access to over 1000 books in materials science. Now available on the Taylor & Francis Group platform.
Project Gutenberg - Free eBooks
Project Gutenberg offers over 54,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired. We digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.
Open Library has well over 20 million edition records online, provide access to 1.7 million scanned versions of books, and link to external sources like WorldCat and Amazon when we can. The secondary goal is to get you as close to the actual document you're looking for as we can, whether that is a scanned version courtesy of the Internet Archive, or a link to Powell's where you can purchase your own copy.
Free Science Fiction Classics
Free science fiction classics, as well as free downloadable audio books.
International Children's Digital Library
Over 4,000 free children's books in over 50 languages.
Barnes & Noble Free Nook Books
Free e-books from B&N, just download the Nook app (which is free) to enjoy.
Free fiction and non-fiction e-books across all subjects.
Be A Successful Online Student