Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Keeping Current via
Social workers must stay updated with regard to current policies, services, and programs, which are constantly evolving. For assisting specific clients, awareness of news from their neighborhood might best inform your work.
Public Radio Sources
WUWM - Milwaukee Public Radio
Member-supported WUWM is licensed to the University of Wisconsin Board of Regents and is operated by the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee College of Letters and Science.
From UMW, Project Milwaukee focuses on in-depth reporting on vital issues in the region that teams up local reporters to work on stories that often result in public forums.
Wisconsin Public Radio (WPR)
The Public Radio station for the state of Wisconsin.
National, local, and international news and commentary.
Recorded audio of special programs produced and often aired on NPR stations throughout the country and available freely to anyone.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. The collection includes more than 17,000 searchable audio and/or video clips from around the country,
BizTimes - Milwaukee Business News
Weekly newsletter providing news and operational insight for executives of nonprofit organizations in southeastern Wisconsin as well as information about the region's philanthropy scene.
Milwaukee Neighborhood News Service
"NNS covers stories that are important to the people who live, work and serve in city neighborhoods, on topics such as education, public safety, economic development, health and wellness, environment, recreation, employment, youth development and housing."
Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site
The Wisconsin Newspaper Association provides access to 200+ Wisconsin newspapers. Coverage has an embargo delay of 60 days. Each edition is available cover-to-cover in a searchable PDF format.
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel 2019- [3 month embargo]
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel digital newspaper archive coverage begins with January 1, 2019. Most recent 3 months not available from publication date. Archival issues prior to 2019 are available on microfilm
. Current issues are available in print near the Media and Reserve Services desk.
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection.
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection contains historical newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. Included are thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. There are 150 Wisconsin-specific titles including the Janesville Daily Gazette, the Racine Daily Herald, the Eau Claire Leader, and many more.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts
Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.