MSP: Sustainable Peacebuilding
Guide directing graduate students in the Master's of Sustainable Peacebuilding program to resources and concepts that will be useful in their research.
What is a Citation Manager?
Citation Management Tools are designed to help the research workflow.
- You can use them however you feel suitable, but largely they are designed to help you keep track of articles, books, websites, and other resources for your work.
- you can collect the records, pdfs, and citations as you conduct your research
- Most have the ability to upload full-text PDFs
- Many have the ability to annotate those citations
- You can create bibliographies from them
- You can also use plug-ins to insert citations into text as you write
Citation Managers
Zotero is an open source, freely available citation management tool that anyone has access to.
Get started by:
- Setting up an account
- Downloading the desktop client (does not work for Chromebooks)
- Installing the browser extension
- Installing the Word plug-in (for either Google Docs, MS Word, or LibreOffice)
Zotero Tutorial
-
ZoteroZotero is an open source, freely available desktop and web-based citation management tool that allows you to manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA (among others). To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free.
Mendeley is a citation manager owned by Elsevier (A privately owned publisher), that can be used freely by anyone.
Get started by:
- Creating a Free Account
- Downloading the desktop manager
- Downloading the mobile apps
- Installing the web importer browser extension
- Installing word processor plug-ins (Mendeley Cite for MS Word)
- Check out Mendeley Help Guides
Mendeley Tutorials
-
MendeleyMendeley is a citation management tool that allows you to Add papers directly from your browser with a few clicks or import any documents from your desktop. Access your library from anywhere. Windows, Mac, Linux and all browsers. It also allows you to Generate references, citations and bibliographies in a whole range of journal styles with just a few clicks.
EndNote is a citation manager owned by Clarivate (an academic publishing company), and freely available for anyone to use.
Get Started by:
- Registering for an account with your UWM.edu e-mail address
- Install the Cite While You Write Plugin for Microsoft Word
- Add the Capture Reference Bookmarking tool. (or install this Chrome Extension)
- Download the iOS app (only for apple devices)
- Consult the EndNote Online Help Guide
EndNote Online Tutorials
-
EndNote WebEndNote Web is a freely available web-based citation management tool. It allows you to store up to 50,000 references and up to 2 GB of pdfs. it allows you to Collect references by searching online databases or importing your existing collection; Organize and group references in any way that works for you. Then share your groups with colleagues; and Use a plugin to format bibliographies and cite references while you write.
- Last Updated: Jul 21, 2025 11:36 AM
- URL: https://guides.library.uwm.edu/MSP
- Print Page