Search@UW
Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW-System and UW-Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and collections of academic literature and journal articles. Users can view search results in a single sortable list or use facets to narrow down results by item type, date, location, etc.Sign in with your ePantherID to easily request items from other campuses, check the status of items you have on loan and more.
Consult the Search@UW Library Guide for detailed user instructions, online video demonstrations and troubleshooting tips.
Searching for Known Journal Citations
-
JOURNAL SEARCH: Searchable A-Z List of E-JournalsAnother way to "citation chase" is to search by Journal Title to drill down to fulltext journal articles and check for print availability. This search tool is also good if you want to browse recent issues of specific journal titles.
WorldCat: Open Access Version
-
WorldCatWorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.
The UW System subscription to WorldCat via the FirstSearch and Discovery platforms expired on June 30, 2020.
-
Advanced Searching via WorldCatUse the Advanced Search options to expand and refine your search.
Google Scholar
Off campus? Set Google Scholar to link to Get IT! at UWM:
From the Google Scholar home page
Click on the "Settings" gear on the top of the page
Select “Library Links” from the left column
Enter “University of Wisconsin Milwaukee” in search box
Check the "UWM" and “Open WorldCat” boxes that appear
Save!
Then search - when you find a good article -
Click on the Get IT! (UWM Libraries) link - not the title
Databases & Guides by Subject
-
Databases & Guides by SubjectWhile Search@UW finds many journal articles, images, ebooks, etc., it does not retrieve all of the rich resources that researchers often require. Consulting individual journal, ebook, image and film databases is often warranted, particularly for inter-discplinary research. Library Guides on specific sub-topics often further aid researchers.
Obtaining Non-UWM Resources
UW-System Borrowing: You may place requests for materials from other UW-System Libraries. Allow a minimum of 3 working days for processing. After placing UW-System Borrowing requests, track them through your Library Account.
If the UWM Libraries or other UW-System Libraries do not have items that you need, there are other options that may help you obtain materials from other libraries.
Interlibrary Loan: When articles and materials are not available through UW System Borrowing, obtain them by making a request through ILLiad. Graduate students may request articles using the Rush Request Service to receive articles in 24 to 48 hours. For more on ILLiad, see FAQs. (Exception: Items that are held at the UWM Libraries, but are on reserve or are checked out, may NOT be requested through Interlibrary Loan).