Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Social Problems Provides as comprehensive an approach as possible to this multifaceted field, utilizing experts from numerous disciplines. These subject areas include anthropology, biology, business, chemistry, communications, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, languages, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and women's studies.
Call Number: Online via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Publication Date: 2008
International Handbook of Gender and Poverty In the interests of contextualising the multiple interrelations between gender and poverty, Sylvia Chant has gathered writings on diverse aspects of the subject. In this volume it is possible to study women's and men's experiences of gendered poverty with respect to the vast spectrum of intersecting issues.
Call Number: HC79.P6 I526 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Poverty and Discrimination Many ideas about poverty and discrimination are nothing more than politically driven assertions unsupported by evidence. And even politically neutral studies that do try to assess evidence are often simply unreliable. In Poverty and Discrimination, economist Kevin Lang cuts through the vast literature on poverty and discrimination to determine what we actually know and how we know it.
Call Number: HC110.P6 L36 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Poverty in the United States: An encyclopedia of history, politics, and policy Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy follows the history of poverty in the United States, with an emphasis on the 20th century, and examines the evolvement of public policy and the impact of critical movements in social welfare such as the New Deal, the War on Poverty, and, more recently, the "end of welfare as we know it."
Encompassing the contributions of hundreds of experts, including historians, sociologists, and political scientists, this resource provides a much broader level of information than previous, highly selective works.
With approximately 300 alphabetically organized topics, it covers topics and issues ranging from affirmative action to the Bracero Program, the Great Depression, living wage campaigns, to domestic abuse and unemployment. Other entries describe and analyze the definitions and explanations of poverty, the relationship of the welfare state to poverty, and the political responses by the poor, middle-class professionals, and the policy elite
Call Number: (REF) HC110.P6 P598 2004
Publication Date: 2004
World Poverty: a reference handbook Contents/Summary: 1. Introduction and overview -- 2. Aid, trade, debt, and the world's poor : some key controversies -- 3. Special U.S. issues -- 4. Chronology -- 5. Biographical sketches -- 6. Data and documents -- 7. Directory of organizations -- 8. Selected print and nonprint resources.
Call Number: (REF) HC59.72.P6 G53 2004
Publication Date: 2004
The following databases are good starting points for finding articles about Poverty. Some keywords you could use to begin your search are poverty and "United States"
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
America: History & Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until June 30, 2022.) Archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists
) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Urban Studies Abstracts
The bibliographic records in Urban Studies Abstracts bibliographic records cover urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of urban studies.
Poverty Research Centers
These sites are excellent sources for information and further links.