Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding City Documents
Legislative Reference Bureau
The Legislative Reference Bureau's library services section maintains a professionally staffed, full-service library serving government officials, city employees and citizens. With subject specialization in urban/governmental affairs, including a collection of 50,000 books, 200 journals, and hundreds of City of Milwaukee reports, the library services section fills a wide array of information needs. Most LRB library resources are available for use by the public.
Useful Books on Milwaukee
Milwaukee Urban Observatory records
Milwaukee Urban Observatory records (1965-1983)
The Milwaukee Urban Observatory (MUO) was a research center for urban studies. The records contain correspondence, memos, and minutes about the routine operations of the MUO as well as a variety of reports detailing urban problems and possible solutions. A sampling of topics included in these reports are freeway impact, taxes, elderly housing, property values, the university's impact on the surrounding community, and racial divisions. Also included are copies of the Urban Observer, a publication of the MUO, and extensive correspondence between Milwaukee Mayor Henry Maier's office and the MUO.
Encyclopedia of Milwaukee
Encyclopedia of Milwaukee
The Encyclopedia of Milwaukee project aims to provide comprehensive coverage of the history of Milwaukee. With a projected 740 entries, hundreds of illustrations, historical and contemporary maps, bibliographic materials, and the opportunity to interact with readers, the EMKE will be a first stop for researchers ranging from students to journalists to scholars and the general public.
The Encyclopedia of Milwaukee covers the four-county Milwaukee area, as recognized by the United States government: Milwaukee County, Ozaukee County, Washington County, and Waukesha County.
Milwaukee Neighborhood Data Sources
CensusViewer for Milwaukee - map and data finder
User-friendly product based on Census and other open government data.
City of Milwaukee, Neighborhood Development Plans & Studies
Official city plans and area studies created by or for the Milwaukee Department of City Development.
Community Indicators for Central City Milwaukee: 1993 - Present
Milwaukee community indicators reports were initially developed by the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Employment and Training Institute with funding from the Greater Milwaukee Foundation and the City of Milwaukee to provide independent, timely and ongoing assessment tools to measure short-term and long-term progress toward improving economic and employment well-being of families in central city Milwaukee neighborhoods. Indicators track changes by neighborhood since 1993, prior to the beginnin
Digital Spatial Data for Milwaukee County
Catalog of spatial data for Milwaukee, and Wisconsin in general, provided by the American Geographical Society Library, located at UWM.
Milwaukee Data Initative
The Milwaukee Data Initiative is a grassroots advocacy effort to identify and make publicly available statistical information and raw data concerning Milwaukee. Updated frequently.
Milwaukee Neighborhood News Service
"NNS covers stories that are important to the people who live, work and serve in city neighborhoods, on topics such as education, public safety, economic development, health and wellness, environment, recreation, employment, youth development and housing."
Milwaukee Neighborhood Webpage Links
More links for neighborhood groups and associations
Milwaukee Police Districts
Clickable map of Milwaukee Police Districts
Neighborhood Groups in Milwaukee
List of neighborhood groups and associations in Milwaukee
Neighborhood Website (Urban Anthropology Inc.)
An ever-growing resource detailing Milwaukee neighborhoods, each entry including information about appearance (including photos), a brief population-focused history, lists of businesses in the neighborhoods’ history, oral histories (where available), resident quotes, current demographics, special neighborhood features, and low-cost nearby outings for families.
Public Applications from the City of Milwaukee
Helpful tools from the City of Milwaukee. Includes a variety of statistical data and mapping applications.
Unique Local Resources
Search data sources from goverment and research organizations.
Historic Milwaukee Inc.
Historical and architectural links
Milwaukee Common Council
Districts, Council Members, Minutes of Meetings, Legislation, Youth Council and New Releases
Areas of town with a distinct identity or official status as a business improvement district (BID), neighborhood association, or other designation
Milwaukee Neighborhoods, a UWM Libraries Guide
Contains basic information on a number of Milwaukee neighborhoods. Includes an interactive Milwaukee Neighborhoods map, and links for neighborhood organizations and other resources.
Milwaukee Quick Facts
Source U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts. Data derived from Population Estimates, Census of Population and Housing.
UWM Center for Economic Development
The Center for Economic Development is a central part of the University of Wisconsin- Milwaukee's mission to apply university-based research and technical expertise to improve the quality of life in our region.
UWM Center for Urban Initiatives and Research
CUIR promotes strategic partnerships, across disciplines and sectors, integrating a dynamic network of expertise to address urban issues.
UWM Employment & Training Institute
The Employment and Training Institute (ETI) addresses the workforce training, transportation, and education needs of low-income and unemployed workers in Wisconsin through applied research, policy development, and technical assistance.
Wisconsin Electronic Reader
Stories, biographies, letters & more from Wisconsin history
You can study the history of numerous Milwaukee-area community organizations in the UWM Archives (2d floor, west). Those listed below are citizen-based, activist organizations based on a neighborhood or geographic locale. For other types of community organizations, such as those centered around a social cause (e.g. Hunger Task Force) or a group identity (e.g. Gay Peoples Union), search Search@UW or Ask an Archivist.