Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search@UW Search Bar
Use this Search@UW box to find articles (note: the "everything" default will also return books, digital collections & media).
CORE DATABASES TO START WITH
America: History & Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Public Administration Abstracts
Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration.
Urban Studies Abstracts
The bibliographic records in Urban Studies Abstracts bibliographic records cover urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of urban studies.
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until June 30, 2022.) Archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists
) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
Search@UW: Selecting Articles
Finding Articles in the Library
There are several possibilities for obtaining articles you have identified through searching:
- Some databases will provide the “full text” of the article online.
- If the full text is not available, click on the Get It link.
The menu may link to other library databases that provide the full text (click on the red "GO" button).
If not, click on the “Check for Call Numbers” link to see if the library has a print copy of the journal.
If the UWM Libraries does not have an article you need in either print or online format, request it through Interlibrary Loan.