Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Database: Oxford English Dictionary Online
Ask yourself: Do you really know what "that" word means? When in doubt, look it up in the Oxford English Dictionary Online: "The Definitive Record of the English Language." Need to dig deeper? Explore the OED's Historical Thesaurus.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It includes 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
OED Subset: Historical Thesaurus
The Historical Thesaurus is a taxonomic classification of the majority of senses and lemmas in OED Online. It can be thought of as a kind of semantic index to the contents of the OED. It can be used to navigate around the dictionary by topic, find related terms, and explore the lexical history of a concept or meaning.
A Short List of English Language Slang Resources
Green's Dictionary of Slang
Green’s Dictionary of Slang is the largest historical dictionary of English slang. Written by Jonathon Green over 17 years from 1993, the main focus of the dictionary is the coverage of over 500 years of slang from c.1500 onwards. On this website the dictionary is now available in updated online form for the first time, complete with advanced search tools enabling search by definition and history, and an expanded bibliography of slang sources from the early modern period to the present day. Since the print edition, nearly 60,000 quotations have been added, supporting 5,000 new senses in 2,500 new entries and sub-entries, of which around half are new slang terms from the last five years.
Dictionary of American Regional English
The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) is a record of regional variations of American English. It is different from other dictionaries in that it does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another.
Library Journal Databases for Translation & Interpreting Theory
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index of articles in communication and mass media, communication sciences and disorders. It does include some full text.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography indexes international scholarly materials, including over 4,400 journals, books, working papers, and conference proceedings on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. It is updated 10 times a year.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until December 31.) JSTOR archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists
) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
American Translators Association
American Translators Association
ATA was established to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
The ATA Chronicle
The ATA Chronicle is the official publication of the American Translators Association. Each issue of the magazine offers resources and practical solutions to challenges facing translators and interpreters.
Chicago Area Translators and Interpreters Association (CHICATA)
Short List of International Translators Associations
International Federation of Translators
FIT (Fédération Internationale des Traducteurs / International Federation of Translators) is an international grouping of associations of translators, interpreters and terminologists. More than 100 professional associations and training institutes are affiliated, representing more than 80,000 translators in 55 countries. The goal of the Federation is to promote professionalism in the disciplines it represents.
International Association for Translation and Intercultural Studies (IATIS)
IATIS is a world-wide forum designed to enable scholars from different regional and disciplinary backgrounds to debate issues pertinent to translation and other forms of intercultural communication.