It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JAMS 701: Media Studies Research Design: Data Sources
Provides data on consumer preferences and purchase behavior for thousands of brands, products, and media properties as well as lifestyles, attitudes, and opinions. Hover over "Essentials" in the top menu bar to generate Quick Reports or customized Crosstab Reports. *Note:The dataset for this academic version of Simmons is 2-3 years older than the commercial version. The UWM Libraries has 10 simultaneous users for this database. If you cannot access the database, please try again later.
UWM Libraries has access to the following modules: Digital Media, Consumer Magazine Media, Business Publication Media, Local Media by DMA, Newspaper Media, Radio Media, TV & Cable Media, Out-of-Home Media, Print Media Circulation, and Claritas 360.
The modules contain advertising rates, circulation data, web metrics, and more for different types of advertising media, with the exception of Claritas 360 which provides demographic and consumer segmentation reports for geographic and demographic markets.
Content: Marketing analysis based primarily on data collected from the federal government. Note: This publication is part of the Nexis Uni database. After clicking on this link, type in search terms describing your topic.
ProQuest One Business: Just-Series Market Research Reports
Global market reviews and/or reports on special topics pertaining to industries and product types within the four sectors listed below.
List of open government data catalogs from around the world
Government Web Sites
American Community Survey (ACS)Nationwide survey to collect and produce population & housing information on a timely basis. These datasets can also be accessed using the U.S. Census Bureau's American Factfinder.
US Census DataDemographic profiles of various geographic areas; data collected in U.S. Census Bureau surveys.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (includes Consumer Expenditure Survey)
Collections of labor economics and statistics on a wide range of topics, including inflation, prices, consumer expenditures, time use and more. Includes well-known reports such as the Consumer Expenditure Survey and the Consumer Price Index.
Microdata Access data.govData mining, analysis, and extraction tool that searches across federal, state, and local datasets. Requires user to download an application or Java applet.
Retail & Wholesale TradeVarious statistical reports on retail and wholesale sales and inventories, including quarterly e-commerce sales. Published by the U.S. Census Bureau.
EuroStatStatistics on the European Union for economics and finance, population and social conditions, trade and industry, agriculture and fisheries, transportation, and more. Both free and fee-based data.
UNESCO Data CentreOver 1,000 indicators for more than 200 countries regarding education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication topics.
United Nations: UNDataSearch multiple UN statistical databases through a single interface. Topics covered include: agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism.