Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
Authorized and founded by Congress in 1962 with the mission to acquire and display portraits of "men and women who have made significant contributions to the history, development, and culture of the people of the United States."
Enjoy online adaptations of National Portrait Gallery exhibitions and collection highlights, including several exhibitions timed with Women’s History Month. In addition, over 3,800 works of art from the museum's permanent collection can be viewed on the site.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online
Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress. The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Getty Research Resources
Getty Publications Virtual Library
Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives.
Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.
Collecting and Provenance Research
The Project for the Study of Collecting and Provenance (PSCP) aligns the Getty Research Institute's collections and the expertise of its staff with the work of scholars interested in the history of collecting, provenance, and display around the world. The Getty Provenance Index® databases, currently contain more than 1.7 million records taken from source material such as archival inventories, auction catalogs, and dealer stock books.
Art + Ideas Podcast
Join Jim Cuno, president of the J. Paul Getty Trust, in Art + Ideas, a podcast series in which he talks with artists, writers, curators, and scholars about their work. Listen in as he engages these important thinkers in reflective and critical conversations about architecture, archaeology, art history, and museum exhibitions.
Resources from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
MetPublications is a portal to The Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program with over 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.
MetPublications includes a description and table of contents for most titles, as well as information about the authors, reviews, awards, and links to related Met titles by author and by theme. Current book titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other book titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF. For the Met's Bulletin, all but the most recent issue can be downloaded as a PDF. For the Met's Journal, all individual articles and entire volumes can be downloaded as a PDF.
The Met Collection
Locate the works of art from The Met's collection that are included in every book and periodical title and access the most recent information about these works via this Collection search interface.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection. Tremendous resource for generating topic ideas, keywords and more.