Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources | Gale in Context
Gale In Context: Global Issues
Gale In Context: Global Issues offers international viewpoints on global issues and current events. Access topic overviews, viewpoint articles, journal articles, primary sources and statistics.. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints provides contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most debated social issues. It includes continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Social Justice & News Resources
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel 2019- [3 month embargo]
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel digital newspaper archive coverage begins with January 1, 2019. Most recent 3 months not available from publication date. Archival issues prior to 2019 are available on microfilm
. Current issues are available in print in the Media and Reserve Library.
Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
ABC-CLIO Solutions (formerly American Mosaic) is a full text database of reference sources and primary documents focusing on the history and culture of African Americans, Latino Americans and American Indians.
Alternative Press Index
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. Alternative Press Index covers theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside; ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminision and organized labor, and indigenous peoples and gays/lesbians. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 1 simultaneous user for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts
First stops for top-level statistics: Data.gov & DataUSA
A comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data. Data USA puts public U.S. government data in your hands. Instead of searching through multiple data sources that are often incomplete and difficult to access, you can simply point to Data USA to answer your questions.
Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. You will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Library Resources for Art & Design
UWM Book Arts Collection
The UWM Book Arts Collection includes digital representations of 31 artists' books from the Special Collections at the UWM Libraries. The online collection presents artists' books - books designed and handmade by artists in multiple digital formats, including images, searchable text files, and downloadable PDFs. The collection provides examples of the expressive use of the book arts including: binding, papermaking, printing, typography, and page design..
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 3 simultaneous users for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
Artstor is a digital library of over 2 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The library is constantly growing with new collections added monthly, continually expanding areas of reference and study. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use. Detailed Artstor-produced Library Guides
are available as well as a Artstor-produced Library Guide for Copyright and Image Use in the Artstor Digital Library
UWM Libraries Digital Collections
UWM Libraries Digital Collections | Social Justice Focus
The Digital Collections at the UWM Libraries include over 160,000 photographic images, maps, and books drawn from the collections of the American Geographical Society Library, the Archives, Special Collections, and the Curriculum Collection.
Encyclopedia of Milwaukee
Encyclopedia of Milwaukee
The Encyclopedia of Milwaukee project aims to provide comprehensive coverage of the history of Milwaukee. With a projected 740 entries, hundreds of illustrations, historical and contemporary maps, bibliographic materials, and the opportunity to interact with readers, the EMKE will be a first stop for researchers ranging from students to journalists to scholars and the general public.
A service of Wisconsin Public Radio, Wisconsin Public Television and Cooperative Extension, WisContext serves the residents of Wisconsin, providing information and insight into issues as they affect the state.
Milwaukee County Resources