Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Design Observer: Topics
Includes a range of topics: graphic design, social innovation, urbanism, popular culture, and criticism. The content of the site includes essays, articles, reviews, blog posts, and peer reviewed scholarship.
Communication Arts Magazine (online)
Exceptional Design, Advertising, Illustration, Photography, Interactive and Typography, since 1959. [Note that you must subscribe to get more than 10 articles per month.]
Communication Arts (print copies in the Library)
Call Number: NC997.A1 C2 / 2nd floor, west wing
Founded in 2002, Typographica is a review of typefaces and type books, with occasional commentary on fonts and typographic design.
Fonts in Use: An Independent Archive of Typography
Public archive of typography indexed by typeface, format, industry, and period.
AIGA: The Professional Association for Design
Originally founded as the American Institute of Graphic Arts -- it's the oldest and largest professional membership organization for design—with more than 70 chapters and over 18,000 members. Focus is to advance design as a professional craft, strategic advantage, and vital cultural force.
For Fun! Image Searching by Color & More!
Google Art Palette Experiment
A color analysis algorithm based on thousands of artworks is used to extract the five hues that define them. Upload an image or take a photo with your phone. Art Palette can analyze your input image–using the same color analysis algorithm–and display all the paintings or sculptures that match. There’s also an option to choose a custom palette, using a color picker that appears on the top of the interface.
Google Curator Table Experiment
Use the Curator’s table to discover new insights and connections between artworks. (Available on desktop only.)
MulticolorEngine: Searching for Images by Color
Tin Eye Labs extracted the colors from 20 million Creative Commons images on Flickr to make the images searchable by color.
MulticolorEngine: Color Extraction
Upload an image, paste an image URL or use drag and drop to extract the colors from your image. MulticolorEngine will display a color palette for all the colors identified in your image. Color extraction works for JPEGs, PNGs, and GIFs.
'Zine Resources Online
Broken Pencil: Magazine of 'Zine Culture and the Independent Arts
Since 1995, a source for Canadian alternative, indie arts and culture . Published four times a year with reviews of zines, e-zines, comics, etc.
Helpful site on all aspects of Zine making, reading, selling, buying and more. Includes "archives."
Library of Congress: Zine Web Archive
Collection priorities include zines by people of color, women, immigrants, and LGBTQ+ and transgender and gender non-conforming individuals and organizations.
Color Theory Resources
Color Marketing Group
International association for color design professionals. Their mission is to create color forecast information for professionals who design and market color.
Munsell Color continues the legacy of Albert H. Munselland his dedication to helping people communicate color easily and accurately. A resource for transforming Munsell color theory into action – for designing palettes, producing products or conducting color-based analysis.
Pantone North America
The PANTONE® name is known worldwide as the standard language for color communication from designer to manufacturer to retailer to customer.
Web Design Ledger
A platform for sharing web design related knowledge and resources. Topics range from design inspiration to tips and tutorials and more.
WolframAlpha / Color System Conversions
Tool for converting RGB, Hexadecimal RGB, CMYK (and more) color designations.
Library eBooks: Typography, Graphic Design & Grid Systems