As the American Library Association has explained in great detail on the sections of their website devoted to this subject, most books referred to as "Banned" would be better described as "Challenged." Many challenges occur because someone believes a book is being offered, or in some cases assigned as reading, for an inappropriate age or grade level. Most have not been permanently removed from the library or school that received objections; in cases where a book was removed, it was more likely to result in a reinstatement, or sometimes a changed location or status in the same institution, once the processing of the objection was completed.
For more information on challenged titles, see the ALA website, here.
Also see Hit List for Children 2: Frequently Challenged Books (CCM Ref. Z 1019 .B38 2002) and Hit List for Young Adults 2: Frequently Challenged Books (CCM Ref. Z 1019 .L48 2002). Earlier editions of these reference sources may be found in the main collection at Hit List: Frequently Challenged Books for Children (Z 1019 .P57 1996) and Hit List: Frequently Challenged Books for Young Adults (Z 1019 .H68 1996).
Allard, Harry. Bumps in the Night. (PICT) A419b
Baldacchino, Christine. Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress. (PICT) B175m
Bannerman, Helen. Little Black Sambo. (PICT) B219l (later editions also available)
Blume, Judy. Are You There, God? It's Me, Margaret. B6584a / B6584a 2014
Blubber. B6584b
Brannen, Sarah S. Uncle Bobby's Wedding. (PICT) B8216u
Brittain, Bill. The Wish Giver: Three Tales of Coven Tree. B862w
Carle, Eric. Draw Me a Star. (PICT) C278dr
Cosby, Bill. The Day I Was Rich. C834d
Hooray for the Dandelion Warriors! C384h
My Big Lie. C384m
Curtis, Christopher Paul. The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963. C9785w 1995
Dahl, Roald. James and the Giant Peach: A Children's Story. D132j 1996 / (SPL) PZ8 .D137 Jam 1961
De Haan, Linda and Stern Nijland. King & King. (PICT) H1117k 2002
Fierstein, Harvey. The Sissy Duckling. (PICT) F465s 2002 / (PICT) F465s 2005
Geisel, Theodor Seuss. Hop on Pop. G313hop
If I Ran the Zoo. (PICT) G313z
Hanford, Martin. Where's Waldo? (PICT) H2358w
Herron, Carolivia. Nappy Hair. (PICT) H568n
Ignatow, Amy. The Popularity Papers: Research for the Social Improvement and General Betterment of Lydia Goldblatt & Julie Graham-Chang I229p.
Kellogg, Steven. Pinkerton, Behave! (PICT) K297p
L'Engle, Madeleine. A Wrinkle in Time. L566w
Lowry, Lois. Anastasia Krupnik. L9215a
Anastasia, Ask Your Analyst. L9215aa
Anastasia Again! L9215an
The Giver. L9215g 1993 / L9215g 2012
Merriam, Eve. Halloween ABC. 811.54 M568h
Newman, Leslea. Heather Has Two Mommies. N5528h / N5528h 2009
Okimoto, Jean Davies, and Elaine M. Aoki. The White Swan Express: A Story About Adoption. (PICT) O415w
Opie, Iona. I Saw Esau: The Schoolchild's Pocket Book. 398.8 I11
Park, Barbara. Junie B. Jones and Her Big Fat Mouth. P2352jb
Junie B. Jones Smells Something Fishy. P2352j
Parr, Todd. The Family Book. (PICT) P258f
Paterson, Katherine. Bridge to Terabithia. P2964b / P2964b 2003 / (REF) P2964b
The Great Gilly Hopkins. P2964g
Pikey, Dav. Adventures of Super Diaper Baby. P639a
Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets: An Epic Novel. P639c
Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman: The Fifith Epic Novel. P639ca
Pittman, Gayle E. This Day in June. (PICT) P6854t
Polacco, Patricia. In Our Mothers' House. (PICT) P762io 2009
Quinlan, Patricia. Tiger Flowers. (PICT) Q75t
Richardson, Justin and Peter Parnell. And Tango Makes Three. (PICT) R5238a
Rodgers, Mary. Freaky Friday. R691f
Rowling, J.K. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. R8845hc / R8845hc 2000
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. R8845hd
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. R8845hg
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. R8845hh
Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix. R8845ho
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. R8845hp
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. R8845h
Sachar, Louis. The Boy Who Lost His Face. S1212b
Schwartz, Alvin. More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. 398.2 S399m
Scary Stories 3: More Tales to Chill Your Bones. 398.2 S399sc
Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. 398.2 S399s
Sendak, Maurice. In the Night Kitchen. (PICT) S474i / (PICT) S474i 1995
Silverstein, Shel. A Light in the Attic. 811.54 S875l
Smith, Jeff. Bone. [Vol. 3], Eyes of the Storm. S6421e
Bone. [Vol. 2], The Great Cow Race. S6421g
Out from Boneville. S6421o
Quest for the Spark. Book 1. S6421q 2011
Snyder, Zilpha Keatley. The Egypt Game. S675e
Speare, Elizabeth George. The Sign of the Beaver. S741s
Spinelli, Jerry. Maniac Magee: A Novel. S7573m
Stine, R.L. Bad Hare Day. S858b
Monster Blood. S858m
Monster Blood III. S858mo
A Night in Terror Tower. S858n
Say Cheese and Die! S858s
A Shocker on Shock Street. S858sh
Stroud, Jonathan. The Amulet of Samarkand. S9251a
Tamaki, Mariko, and Jillian. This One Summer. T154t 2014
Taylor, Mildred D. The Land. T2443la
Mississippi Bridge. T2443m
Telgemeier, Raina. Drama. T271d 2012
Twiss, Jill (Illustrated by E.G. Keller). Last Week Tonight with John Oliver Presents a Day in the Life of Marlon Bundo. T973l 2018
Wilder, Laura Ingalls. Little House on the Prairie. W673li
Wilhoite, Michael. Daddy's Roommate. (PICT) W7148d
Yep, Laurence. Dragonwings. Y47d
Alexie, Sherman. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. A384a
Anaya, Rudolfo A. Bless me, Ultima. A636b
Anderson, Laurie Halse. Speak. A5472s
Twisted. A5472t / A5472t 2008
Anderson, M.T. Feed. A5482f
Anonymous. Go Ask Alice. G573
Asher, Jay. Thirteen Reasons Why. A825t
Block, Francesca Lia. Baby Be-Bop. B625b
Girl Goddess #9: Nine Stories. B625g
Blume, Judy. Deenie. B6584d / B6584d 1991
Forever. B6584fo
Here's to You, Rachel Robinson. B6584h
Tiger Eyes. B6584ti
Brashares, Ann. Forever in Blue, the Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood. B823f
Card, Orson Scott. Ender's Game. C265e 2002
Chambers, Aidan. Dance on My Grave: A Life and Death in Four Parts. C444d
Chbosky, Stephen. The Perks of Being a Wallflower. C513p
Childress, Alice. A Hero Ain't Nothin' but a Sandwich. C5364h
Choldenko, Gennifer. Al Capone Does My Shirts. C547s
Cisneros, Sandra. The House on Mango Street. C579h / PS 3553 .I78 H6 1985
Clinton, Cathryn. A Stone in My Hand. C641s
Cole, Brock. The Facts Speak for Themselves. C687f
The Goats. C687go
Collier, James Lincoln and Christopher. My Brother Sam is Dead. C6997my
With Every Drop of Blood. C6997wi
Collins, Suzanne. Catching Fire. C7136c
The Hunger Games. C7136h
Mockingjay. C7136m
Conly, Jane. Crazy Lady! C752c
Cooney, Caroline B. The Face on the Milk Carton. C7753f
Cormier, Robert. After the First Death. C8113a
Beyond the Chocolate War. C8113be
The Chocolate War. C8113c / C8113c 1997
Fade. C8113f
I Am the Cheese. C8113i
We All Fall Down. C8113w
Crutcher, Chris. Athletic Shorts: Six Short Stories. C957a
Deadline. C957d
Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes. C957s
Whale Talk. C957w
Davis, Jenny. Sex Education: A Novel. D2619s
DeClements, Barthe. 6th Grade Can Really Kill You. D2954s
Duncan, Lois. Killing Mr. Griffin. D9114k
Fox, Paula. The Slave Dancer. F793s 1991
Gaines, Ernest J. A Lesson Before Dying. G142l / PS 3557 .A355 L47 1993
George, Jean Craighead. Julie of the Wolves. G348j
Gino, Alex. George. G492g 2015
Glenn, Mel. Who Killed Mr. Chippendale? G5585w
Golding, William. Lord of the Flies. G6194l (and other editions in the main collection)
Green, John. An Abundance of Katherines. G796a
The Fault in Our Stars. G796f 2012
Looking For Alaska. G796l
Paper Towns. G796p
Greene, Bette. Summer of My German Soldier. G7985s
Grimes, Nikki. Bronx Masquerade. G862b
Jazmin's Notebook. G862j
Haddon, Mark. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. H127c 2003 / PR 6058 .A284x C87 2005
Harper, Charise Mericle. Flashcards of My Life. H293f
Hautzig, Deborah. Hey Dollface. H382h
Henkes, Kevin. Olive's Ocean. H512ol
Hinton, S.E. The Outsiders. H666o 2003 / (SPL) PZ 7 .H5976
That Was Then, This is Now. H666t
Howe, james. Totally Joe. H8554to
Keyes, Daniel. Flowers for Algernon. K444f
Klause, Annette Curtis. Blood and Chocolate. K636b
Klein, Norma. Family Secrets. K643f
Koertge, Ron. The Arizona Kid. K783a
Levithan, David. Two Boys Kissing. L6664t 2013
London, Jack. Call of the Wild. L847ca / L847cw (and other editions in the main collection)
Loux, Matthew. SideScrollers. L865s
Lynch, Chris. Extreme Elvin. L987e
Mackler, Carolyn. The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big, Round Things. M1581e
Mazer, Harry. The Last Mission. M476l
Meyer, Stephanie. Breaking Dawn. M6121b
Eclipse. M6121e
New Moon. M6121n
Twilight. M6121t
Myers, Walter Dean. Fallen Angels. M9962fa
Hoops. M9962h
Monster. M9962m
Scorpions. M9962s
Myracle, Lauren. Ttyl. M998t
Ttfn. M998tt
Naylor, Phyllis Reynolds. Alice Alone. N333aa
Alice the Brave. N333ab
Alice in Rapture, Sort Of. N333al
Alice in April. N333ali
Alice on the Outside. N333ao
Nix, Garth. Shade's Children. N7354sh
Nixon, Joan Lowry. Whispers From the Dead. N736w
Parks, Gordon. The Learning Tree. P252l 1989 / PS 566 .A73 L43x 1963
Paulsen, Gary. Harris and Me. P332ha
Peck, Robert Newton. A Day No Pigs Would Die. P3676d
Pullman, Philip. The Amber Spyglass. P982a / P982a 2001
The Golden Compass. P982g
The Subtle Knife. P982u / P982su 1998
Rennison, Louise. On the Bright Side, I'm Now the Girlfriend of a Sex God: Further Confessions of Georgia Nicolson. R416o
Reynolds, Jason, and Brendan Kiely. All American Boys. R4625a
Rowell, Rainbow. Eleanor and Park. R879e 2013
Salinger, J.D. The Catcher in the Rye. S165c (and other editions in the main collection)
Sanchez, Alex. Rainbow Boys. S2111r
Satrapi, Marjane. Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood. S253p (and others in the main collection)
Persepolis 2: the Story of a Return. S253pe (and others in the main collection)
Sebold, Alice. The Lovely Bones. S443l / PS 3619 .E26 L68 2002
Shusterman, Neal. Unwind. S562u
Sones, Sonya. What My Mother Doesn't Know. S6983w
Speare, Elizabeth George. The Witch of Blackbird Pond. (REF) S741w / S741wi 1971
Stone, Tanya Lee. A Bad Boy Can Be Good for a Girl. S8811b
Taylor, Mildred D. Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry. T2443r / T2443r 1991 / (REF) T2443r 2001
Thomas, Angie. The Hate U Give. T4542h 2017
Twain, Mark. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. T968ahm 2006 (and other editions in the main collection)
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. T968at 1920 / T968atm 1989 / T968atl 1996 (and others in the main collection)
Von Ziegesar, Cecily. Gossip Girl. V948g
Don't You Forget About Me. V948d
Williams-Garcia, Rita. Like Sisters on the Homefront. W7273l
Ancona, George. Cuban Kids. 972.91 A542c 2000 / (REF) Américas 2000 972.91 A542c 2000
Bailey, Jacqui, and Jan McCafferty. Sex, Puberty, and All That Stuff: A Guide Through Growing Up. 612.6 B1541s
Brown, Laurie Kranzey, and Marc Brown. What's the Big Secret?: Talking About Sex with Girls and Boys. 612.6 B877w
Cohen, Daniel. Ghostly Warnings. 133.1 C678gh
Ellis, Elisabeth Gaynor, and Anthony Esler. World History. SS-H P-H 2003 Stu. ed.
Frank, Anne. Anne Frank: the Diary of a Young Girl. 921 F828d (and other editions in the main collection)
Harris, Robie. It's Perfectly Normal: Changing Bodies, Growing Up, Sex, and Sexual Health. 612.6 H315ip / 612.6 H315ip 2009
It's So Amazing! A Book About Eggs, Sperm, Birth, Babies, and Family. 612.6 H315i
Herthel, Jessica, and Jazz Jennings. I Am Jazz! 306.76 H574i
Jenness, Aylette. Families: A Celebration of Diversity, Commitment, and Love. 306.85 J54f
Kilodavis, Cheryl. My Princess Boy: A Mom's Story About a Young Boy Who Loves to Dress Up. 301.41 K488m
Kuklin, Susan. Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out. 306.76 K95b
Levithan, David. Full Spectrum. 306.76 F965
Lewis, Richard, comp. There Are Two Lives: Poems by Children of Japan. 808.81 T398 / PL 782 E3 L43
Mayle, Peter. Where Did I Come From?: The facts of life without any nonsense and with illustrations. 612.63 M469w
Merriam, Eve. The Inner City Mother Goose. 811.54 M568i / 811.54 M68i 1996
Neri, Greg. Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty. 305.896 N445y
Peters, Lisa Westberg. Our Family Tree: An Evolution Story. 567.8 P482o
Pomeroy, Wardell. Boys and Sex. 612.6 P785b
Girls and Sex. 612.6 P785g
Reiss, Johanna. The Upstairs Room. 921 R378u / 921 R378u 1987
Schwartz, Alvin. Cross Your Fingers, Spit in Your Hat: Superstitions and Other Beliefs. 001.96 C951
Silverberg, Cory, and Fiona Smyth. Sex is a Funny Word: A Book About Bodies, Feelings, and You. 613.9 S587s 2015
Winter, Jeanette. The Librarian of Basra: A True Story from Iraq. 921 B167l
Nasreen's Secret School: A True Story from Afghanistan. 958.1 W785n