Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Urban Studies Research Resources

A guide to the wide variety of research resources and services available through the UWM Libraries for Urban Studies research.

Using New Sources

Newspapers, broadcast news and online news outlets are valuable research resources and can often be considered primary sources. If you know the particular day an event happened you may go directly to a news source. To identify content about a specific subject, use indexes or the databases linked below.

Local Newspapers

Public Radio, Public Television and Broadcast News

National Public Radio is a source for news and commentary.  Click here for a directory of NPR podcasts.

Many Wisconsin Public Radio broadcasts are  available through the WPR audio archive.

WUWM's Project Milwaukee (and others) highlights local issues, and has an audio archive.

 

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television. Includes more than 17,000 searchable audio and/or video clips from around the country,

DATABASES:

Newspapers as a Data Source

Newspaper articles may include unique data for local areas, based on local reports or gathered by the journalist. Check out the following news databases for both current & historical data.

Local Search Tip

Locate local Wisconsin news stories through ProQuest Historical Newspapers using this strategy:

1)  Select the "Advanced Search" tab

2)  In the drop-down box select the "Dateline" limiter.  

3)  On the (left) keyword side, use "or" to enter a combination of geographical names or abbreviations unique to Wisconsin:

        Wisc or WI or Wis or Milwaukee or Madison

4)  Enter the keywords that describe your research topic in the next box

This strategy should retrieve articles that originated in a Wisconsin newspaper that got picked up by the paper you are searching.