Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Urban Studies Research Resources

A guide to the wide variety of research resources and services available through the UWM Libraries for Urban Studies research.

Resources for Images

  • Google Image Search
    Search for image files available on the internet using the Google Image Search. Search by location or a general topic.  http://images.google.com/
     
  • Academic Search - Select "More" and then "Image Collection", for more than 1 million images relating to people, natural science, places, history, and flags. Focus your search using the Image Quick View Collection types available: Black and White Photographs, Color Photographs, Diagrams, Illustrations, Charts, Graphs, Maps

Academic Search Image Collection (imh1794050) Pro-choice demonstrators.

  • Moving Image Archive   Extensive collection of free movies, films, and videos - including daily alternative news broadcasts and other "local" content.
  • ARTstor  A digital library of over 1 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences\
  • Cities Around the World   6,100 photographic images (taken 1942-1994) from more than 450 cities with focus on architecture, city life, people, transportation and other aspects of urban development, such as neighborhoods, commercial streets, and business districts. In addition to present-day metropolitan areas, this collection also features ancient cities and deserted settlements, including Carthage, Great Zimbabwe, Machupicchu, and Persepolis. Chicago, boat at Chicago Tribune wharf on Chicago RiverCities Around the World Image Collection (me000789) Chicago, boat at Chicago Tribune wharf.
  • CQ Researcher  Search by topic, then click on the "Maps/Graphs" option (left column) to save charts and other images on your topic.
 
 
Wisconsin-Specific Urban Images/Collections