Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Becoming a Law
The websites and databases listed here will help you find information on both current and historical legislative measures, at both the state and federal level.
Annals of Congress
Covers the 1st Congress (1789) through the first session of the 18th Congress (1824). Contains links to the Register of Debates, the Congressional Globe, and the Congressional Record.
Published by the US Government Printing Office. From 1994 onward.
Federal Legislative History
Published by the University of Washington's Marion Gould Gallagher Law Library, some of the links are restricted. However, contains information on researching and understanding legislative history.
Library of Congress: Thomas
Contains legislative information including bills and their resolutions, treaties, committee reports, and other government resources.
Wisconsin Briefs, August 1998
Guide to researching Wisconsin legislation (PDF).
Wisconsin Legislative History
Published by Marquette University.
Impact of the Law
Use the guides and websites listed here to research a law's history and track its impact.
Federal Legislative History
A Practitioner's Guide to Compiling the Documents and Sifting for Legislative Intent. Published by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.. Contains a detailed outline with links to written narrative.
Federal Digital System
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to:
Search for documents and publications — FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need.
Browse for documents and publications — FDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, date, and Government author.
Access metadata about documents and publications — FDsys provides information about Government publications in standard XML formats.
Download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats — With FDsys, users can download a single file or download content and metadata packaged together in a compressed file.
Legislative Documents Search
Published by the Wisconsin Legislature. Also has information on previous legislative sessions, and offers the Legislative Notification Service, which allows users to track legislative activities on proposals, committees, authors and subjects by receiving notification emails.
Legislative Histories of Selected U.S. Laws on the Internet
Published by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.. Contains Public Law Number Listings, Commercial Histories, and Explanatory Notes.
State Legislative History Research Guides on the Web
Published by Indiana University's Maurer School of Law. Contains links to research guides on state legislative history.
State Legislatures, State Laws, and State Regulations
Website links and telephone numbers. Published by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C..