Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law Subject Guide: CitingSources

Online Citation Tools

RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

As a UWM student or faculty member, you are eligible to register for a RefWorks account.RefWorks is a web-based tool that helps you manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, MLA.and CSE.

Importing Records

To transfer search results to your RefWorks account, you can:

  • click on "View It" in the results box; then click on "Print/Save/Email/Cite," then Refworks:
  • use the export/save function provided by the search tool you are using.
    • Popup note: You may need to turn off any pop-up window blockers in your browser to do this.

Creating Formatted Bibliographies

To generate a reference list, use the Bibliography menu and select your desired output style.

Using Write-N-Cite from Off-Campus

In order to use Write-N-Cite from off-campus you will need to load the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility in RefWorks to route you to UWM Libraries proxy server. After running the utility, when you launch Write-N-Cite you will be directed to UWM Libraries proxy server to login rather than going directly to RefWorks.

Windows Users:

  1. From the Start Menu select Programs and RefWorks.
  2. Select the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility.
  3. Enter the Proxy Server URL: https://ezproxy.lib.uwm.edu/login?url=https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/?WNC=true
  4. Click OK.

Mac Users:

  1. Activate Write-N-Cite.
  2. Select Preferences from the Write-N-Cite menu .
  3. Select the Proxy option and enter the Proxy Server URL: https://ezproxy.lib.uwm.edu/login?url=https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/?WNC=true
  4. Restart Write-N-Cite for this proxy configuration to take effect.

Getting Help

The ProQuest RefWorks YouTube channel contains a wealth of information on using RefWorks.

An extensive RefWorks Quick Start Guide is also available for your convienence. Please refer to the RefWorks tutorial and RefWorks help pages for additional information on using RefWorks, and Ask a Librarian for more help with RefWorks.

See also the schedule of UWM Libraries workshops for a list of RefWorks information sessions.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Plagiarism is when a person uses someone else’s direct quote or idea without giving them the proper credit. Even when one is paraphrasing from the original document, one still must give credit to the original author(s). Any information you have not created, must be cited. These are some sources used for research that should be cited:

  • Print documents, such as books and magazine articles
  • Electronic sources, such as websites and databases
  • Multimedia sources, such as movies and television shows

A research paper should be a combination of your ideas and the previous research of other scholars on the same topic.  but this borrowed material must NOT be presented as your own creation. Many students do not understand the rules for citing someone else’s work, and thus do not know when they are plagiarizing. However, it is your responsibility to learn and use appropriate research writing techniques.

For more information and examples see:

UWM Handbook for the official statement on Academic Misconduct

The Information Literacy Module 6: Citing Sources and

Plagiarism: What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid It

and a tongue-in-cheek video, What Is Plagiarism, from Rutgers U.