Skip to main content

Dance Resources at UWM: Useful Tools & Resources

How to access dance resources at the UWM Libraries. Especially for students in the Master's distance ed program

Guide to e-books at UWM

The Libraries have a guide to locating and using e-books available in our collections.

It is located here

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography tool that lets you save bibliographic entries directly out of the databases, online full text sources, and even the web in general so that you can keep track of your research. Its web-based status means that you can access it from  anywhere.

You need to set up an account in your own name, but you must do it through UWM (it's not available to the general public)

To get started:

  • Click on the RefWorks link above
  • Fill out the form - you may be asked for a 'group code' - that code is RWUnWiMil

Other ways that RefWorks can be used

 

RefWorks announced recently that as long as an account is created while the user is student at UWM, they will continue to be able to use it in perpetuity. I always worry about 'in perpetuity' claims, but so far there's been no sign that they plan to cut the service off.

The folks in Research and Instructional Support have a guide like this one completely devoted to using RefWorks. It's definitely worth checking out. The link is http://guides.library.uwm.edu/refworks

Google Scholar

  • Google Scholar, Records and citations from Google's Web index calculated to be scholarly. Although useful for most topics, it still contains a small subset of available publications; other databases on this page will have additional items on your topic.

    • NOTE: You never have to pay to retrieve results. The full text of some results are linked, but for others Search@UW can be used to track them down. 

Music, Theatre, & Dance Librarian

Music Library's picture
Music Library
Contact:
GML Building, 2nd Floor East Wing
414-229-5529
Website