Skip to main content

Dance Resources at UWM: Databases

How to access dance resources at the UWM Libraries. Especially for students in the Master's distance ed program

Databases To Search

These databases are all accessed from the UWM Libraries

Resources A-to-Z page

 

This is a selection of potentially useful databases. Look at the much longer list linked to above for more. 

Academic Search -- Interdisciplinary database that has a little bit about a lot of subjects and is a very good place to start your research

Dissertations & Theses -- dating back to 1861 full text of most theses in .pdf format from about 1997 on. Earlier ones are abstracted only, but, if there is a title that you need a hard copy of, you can try InterLibrary Loan or buy one to own  inexpensively through the ILL office.

Biography & Geneology Master Index - Lists where you can find biographies of people. You then take this information to the Libraries' catalog to see if UWM owns it or not.


JSTOR -- Full-image scanned back-runs of journals, i.e. this is NOT current issues, but 3 or 5 years old and older with new volumes added on a rolling-horizon basis.


Project MUSE -- Full-text journals on a variety of subjects. Includes ten music-specific titles, ten education-specific titles, and a variety of interdisciplinary titles that should be looked at

SPORTDiscus -- FULL text! Covers sports-related subjects in relation to injury and body health.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960-1974 --  Full text/image of events and people's lives in the 1960s and 1970s

Web of Science -- This is a Citation Index. Through it you can find out how frequently an author's work is used.

WorldCat -- Confirm the existence of a book, score, or recording and place ILL requests for them. You can also access this without using yous UWM ID, but it may confuse things if you find you want to request something from another Library. If you choose to, you can do it at worldcat.org

===

Alert Service -- Set up TOC delivery and specify regular subject searches through the databases

Many of the databases that UWM subscribes to office 'Alert' services. This guide gives a pretty good breakdown of the ones that are available. http://guides.library.uwm.edu/currentcontentsalerts


Of particular interest would be Academic Search, Books In Print, Project Muse, and Proquest Newspapers & Ebsco Newspaper Source Plus

 

Music, Theatre, & Dance Librarian

Music Library's picture
Music Library
Contact:
GML Building, 2nd Floor East Wing
414-229-5529
Website