Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Research: Articles

What If the Full-Text of the Article is Not Included in the Database?


►  Look for the  button.

If the full text is not available in the database you are using, clicking Get It! may link directly to:

the full article in other library databases or journal subscriptions

or to a call number for a print copy.

►  If the article is not available via the UWM Libraries, request it using the library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

Get It! may provide an option to "Request a Copy"

if not, fill out the Interlibrary Loan form manually.

Searching for Career-Related Articles

The library has access to many databases that may be helpful to your career research, including:

  • Multidisciplinary databases, which allow you to search publications from a variety of subject areas; for example, Academic Search Complete.

  • Specialized subject databases, which include publications from specific fields or subject areas. For example, an education database, like ERIC, may include articles from education journals on the topic of careers in teaching.

To access article databases in addition to those listed below, click on Search and Find on the library's home page and then on "Databases & Guides by Subject."

Think creatively when researching careers. Even if you aren't interested in a career in business, a business database may give you information on the field you are interested in--or allow you to research a company you are interested in.

For research strategies, see the Library Search Strategies tab.

Selected Article Databases