Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business & Economics: Dissertations & Theses

Essential research tools for business and economics topics.

Access to UWM Master's Theses and Doctoral Dissertation


Online (UWM Users Only): UWM faculty, students, and staff have access to available online full text of UWM doctoral dissertations (1997-current) via Dissertations & Theses @ University of Wisconsin Milwaukee.

Online (Unrestricted): We are also starting to publish electronic copies of dissertations online at the UWM Digital Commons site, where you will find materials from 2012 to the present.


Physical Copies: Print versions of Master's Theses and Doctoral Dissertations have the same circulation policies as books: UWM Staff, students, faculty and Special Permit holders may check them out; UWM owned theses and dissertations located in the general collection can be checked out with a valid UWM ID card.

Master's theses and doctoral dissertations owned by the UWM Libraries are listed in Search@UW, by author, title, and subject. Theses and dissertations done at UWM, and in the libraries' collection, are classified by a department (given a base call number) and then arranged, generally, by the author's last name.

Dissertations & Theses Global Database

Dissertations & Theses Global (formerly Dissertation Abstracts) contains provides citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day . Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.

 Note:   The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

More Options

Looking for a doctoral dissertation to which the UWM Libraries does not have access?

  • Doctoral dissertations can frequently be borrowed (usually on microfilm) from other institutions through the library's Interlibrary Loan department.
  • UWM faculty and students can purchase low-cost printed copies of doctoral dissertations through Dissertation Express