Encyclopedia of Milwaukee

Encyclopedia of Milwaukee
The Encyclopedia of Milwaukee project aims to provide comprehensive coverage of the history of Milwaukee. With a projected 740 entries, hundreds of illustrations, historical and contemporary maps, bibliographic materials, and the opportunity to interact with readers, the EMKE will be a first stop for researchers ranging from students to journalists to scholars and the general public.

The Encyclopedia of Milwaukee covers the four-county Milwaukee area, as recognized by the United States government: Milwaukee County, Ozaukee County, Washington County, and Waukesha County.

UWM Archival Records

You can study the history of numerous Milwaukee-area community organizations in the UWM Archives (2d floor, west). Those listed below are citizen-based, activist organizations based on a neighborhood or geographic locale. For other types of community organizations, such as those centered around a social cause (e.g. Hunger Task Force) or a group identity (e.g. Gay Peoples Union), search Search@UW or Ask an Archivist.

Avenues West Association Records (Westside of Milwaukee)
Title: Avenues West Association Records
Creator: Avenues West Association
Call Number: UWM Mss 98
Abstract: Records of a neighborhood organization established in 1982.
Eastside Housing Action Committee (ESHAC) Records (Eastside of Milwaukee)
Title: Eastside Housing Action Committee Records
Creator: Eastside Housing Action Committee
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss 11
Abstract: Records of a Milwaukee tenant union organizing committee.
Lincoln Neighborhood Redevelopment Corporation Records (Southside of Milwaukee)
Title: Lincoln Neighborhood Redevelopment Corporation Records
Creator: Lincoln Neighborhood Redevelopment Corporation
Call Number: UWM Mss 95
Abstract: Records of a non-profit community development corporation, mostly dating from the 1990s.
Mid-Town Neighborhood Association Records (near Northside of Milwaukee)
Title: Mid-Town Neighborhood Association Records
Creator: Mid-Town Neighborhood Association
Call Number: Milwaukee Mss 13
Abstract: Records of a group of residents and businesspeople interested in rehabilitation and preservation.
Sherman Park Community Association Records (Northside of Milwaukee)
Title: Sherman Park Community Association Records
Creator: Sherman Park Community Association
Call Number: UWM Mss 72
Abstract: Records of Milwaukee's oldest and largest neighborhood group.
Milwaukee Urban Observatory Records, 1965-1984
Title: UW-Milwaukee Milwaukee Urban Observatory Records
Creator: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Milwaukee Urban Observatory
Call Number: UWM Archival Collection 73
Abstract: The Milwaukee Urban Observatory (MUO) was a research center for urban studies. The records contain correspondence, memos, and minutes about the routine operations of the MUO as well as a variety of reports and research publications detailing urban problems and possible solutions. A sampling of topics included in these reports are freeway impact, taxes, elderly housing, property values, the university's impact on the surrounding community, and racial divisions. Also included are copies of the Urban Observer, a publication of the MUO, and extensive correspondence between Milwaukee Mayor Henry Maier's office and the MUO.

Local Archives

Milwaukee County Historical Society
Through education programs, exhibitions, the research library, our historic sites, and special events, MCHS offers Milwaukeeans and visitors to Milwaukee a chance to connect with the heritage of Milwaukee.
Wisconsin Historical Society
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Archives
The Archives Department has the two-fold mission of documenting the history of UWM and providing access to primary sources, largely from the metropolitan Milwaukee area, that have long-term research and instructional value for UWM academic programs. We serve as an Area Research Center for the Wisconsin Historical Society, providing access to primary sources from all around the state.
Milwaukee Public Library Local History
Local history materials in the Frank P. Zeidler Room at the Central Library deal with the history of Milwaukee and Wisconsin, the old Northwest Territory, and the colonies and states in the main migration pattern to this area.

Local Milwaukee Resources

Milwaukee Business Improvement and Neighborhood Improvement Districts
Business Improvement Districts (BID) and Neighborhood Improvement Districts (NID) are strong partners in the City’s efforts to develop strong commercial, residential and industrial areas of the City that create jobs and a higher quality of life in Milwaukee. BIDs and NIDs are funded and operated by businesses, property owners and other community members located within each district’s defined boundaries. Scroll through to discover the more than 30 BIDs and NIDs that are working to make our Milwaukee neighborhoods great places to live, visit or open a business.
Milwaukee Department of City Development
The mission of the Department of City Development (DCD) is to improve the quality of life in Milwaukee by guiding and promoting development that creates jobs, builds wealth and strengthens the urban environment, and at the same time respects equity, economy and ecology.
Milwaukee Economic Development Corporation (MEDC)
MEDC leverages funding from private and public sources to finance projects or businesses in the Milwaukee 7 Region that focus on job retention and creation.
Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC)
The Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC) is the official metropolitan planning organization (MPO) and regional planning commission (RPC) for the seven county southeastern Wisconsin area.
UW-Extension Center for Community Economic Development
Community Economic Development is a community-driven approach to the study and practice of improving the economic well-being and overall quality of life for local communities. It, therefore, goes beyond simply worrying about land, labor, and capital. Extension’s Community Economic Development educational programming and research take many forms, but at its heart is helping communities of the state of Wisconsin improve their economic well-being regardless of achieved or ascribed statuses, geographic location, and past successes or failures and to do so in ways the preserve and respect the environment, culture, and all people.
Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority
WHEDA’s mission is to stimulate the state’s economy and improve the quality of life for Wisconsin residents by providing affordable housing and business financing products.
Wisconsin Policy Forum
The Wisconsin Policy Forum is a statewide nonpartisan, independent policy research organization. They provide informed analysis of critical policy issues affecting local governments, school districts, and the state of Wisconsin. Research and facilitation activities encourage elected officials and community leaders to find effective, data-driven solutions to pressing policy challenges, and promote productive discussion among the public and private sectors. They focus policy research on a broad range of issues affecting the state with a particular emphasis on Milwaukee and southeast Wisconsin, including government finance, economic development, education, and social services.
Legislative Reference Bureau
The Legislative Reference Bureau's library services section maintains a professionally staffed, full-service library serving government officials, city employees and citizens. With subject specialization in urban/governmental affairs, including a collection of 50,000 books, 200 journals, and hundreds of City of Milwaukee reports, the library services section fills a wide array of information needs. Most LRB library resources are available for use by the public.
Historic Milwaukee Inc
Historical and architectural links.
Milwaukee Common Council
Districts, Council Members, Minutes of Meetings, Legislation, Youth Council and New Releases
Milwaukee Neighborhoods
Areas of town with a distinct identity or official status as a business improvement district (BID), neighborhood association, or other designation. Useful links to reports and local data.
Milwaukee Neighborhoods, a UWM Libraries Guide
Contains basic information on a number of Milwaukee neighborhoods. Includes an interactive Milwaukee Neighborhoods map, and links for neighborhood organizations and other resources.
Milwaukee Quick Facts
Source U.S. Census Bureau: State and County QuickFacts. Data derived from Population Estimates, Census of Population and Housing.
UWM Center for Economic Development
The Center for Economic Development is a central part of the University of Wisconsin- Milwaukee's mission to apply university-based research and technical expertise to improve the quality of life in our region.
UWM Employment and Training Institute
The Employment and Training Institute (ETI) addressed the workforce training, transportation, and education needs of low-income and unemployed worked in Wisconsin through applied research, policy development, and technical assistance. Their reports are stored in the Digital Commons.
Wisconsin Electronic Reader
Stories, biographies, letters & more from Wisconsin history

Milwaukee Data Sources

Where to Find More Data on Milwaukee Neighborhoods:

City of Milwaukee, Neighborhood Development Plans & Studies
Official city plans and area studies created by or for the Milwaukee Department of City Development.
Find Census Tract and Other Information with Census Data Address Search
Allows you to search addresses for census tract and other information
Milwaukee Neighborhood News Service
"NNS covers stories that are important to the people who live, work and serve in city neighborhoods, on topics such as education, public safety, economic development, health and wellness, environment, recreation, employment, youth development and housing."
Milwaukee Neighborhood Webpage Links
More links for neighborhood groups and associations
Milwaukee Police Districts
Clickable map of Milwaukee Police Districts
Neighborhood Groups in Milwaukee
List of neighborhood groups and associations in Milwaukee
Neighborhood Website (Urban Anthropology Inc.)
An ever-growing resource detailing Milwaukee neighborhoods, each entry including information about appearance (including photos), a brief population-focused history, lists of businesses in the neighborhoods’ history, oral histories (where available), resident quotes, current demographics, special neighborhood features, and low-cost nearby outings for families.
Map Applications from the City of Milwaukee
Helpful tools from the City of Milwaukee. Includes a variety of statistical data and mapping applications.

Need More Statistical Information on Milwaukee?