UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Communication 362: Theory and Practice of Argumentation and Debate/Olson: Cash Bail Resources

Databases

HeinOnline
Offers extensive access to legal and government materials. Includes Federal Register, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Reports, state session laws, and more. Explore HeinOnline Subject Guides
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
JSTOR
Archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
Search@UW
Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW-Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.

Helpful Keywords

Use keywords "cash bail," "bail bond," and "pretrial release," or even "monetary sanction" as a broad search. Other terms can limit your search to criminal or civil cases, or to federal and state courts. Most criminal cases are heard in state courts.

Database: HeinOnline has law journal articles that are published by law professors and practicing attorneys;
- Internal database: Law Journal Library - select this from the top left "All Databases" dropdown
- Keyword: to find articles on the constitutionality of bail bonds, try: <cash bail /s constitution*> to find articles that contain discuss cash bail in the same sentence as constitution/constitutional - this is called proximity searching.
Database: Academic Search Complete, in EBSCOhost, with Humanities International Complete and Literary Reference Center.
- Internal database: Add the three databases within EBSCO by clicking "choose databases."
- Keyword: try: <"bail bond"> instead of <"cash bond"> to find hundreds of articles. Try related searches in JSTOR, too.
Database: Search@UW
- Pearl-building: Library catalog records include subject terms that help organize books and articles, they're like hashtags, controlled vocab that links related works together. Here's a link to a book that was shared on the CQ Researcher article from class. Scroll down to the subjects, and click on "Criminal Justice, Administration of -- social aspects -- United States." You can get a sense of which book chapters might be helpful by scanning table of contents, as well. Google Scholar is sometimes helpful with pearl-building, as well, but only insofar is it directs us to scholarly resources the library subscribes to (link your Google Scholar to your UWM credentials to save time!).