Skip to main content

Graduate Research in Music - Music 710: Finding Articles

Using resources in the UWM Music Library. Developed for the Graduate Research in Music Course.

journal search in Primo - This graphic can guide you to finding out if we have physical or online access to a journal. Note that you can also browse, but searching it more effective.

Starting with a Citation ?

Starting with a citation that you found in another article or encyclopedia? Citation Linker will help you identify if we have online access to the article, and if not it will lead you to InterLibrary Loan to get access to it.

Cited Reference Searching

Cited Reference Searching assists the researcher in determining if a scholarly publication has been subsequently cited by another publication.

Some research databases track citations with shared indexing via an icon or "hot button;" others enable the researcher to identify specific authors or citations within indexed Reference or Works Cited lists. Full-text research databases have the potential to further identify cited references. Refer to the "Help" and "FAQ" guides within each database for the most effective results.

Finding Journals and Articles

Do we have this journal, or at least this article, electronically ?

 

Search@UW reflects electronic subscriptions to most of the journals we subscribe to. Search for

Dance Chronicle

or

Dance Research Journal

What you see is a several entries for the title - including the original title CORD News and the note that they are all online. Clicking on the 'View It' tab will show you how to access them. Some years, primarily the early volumes, are available through JSTOR, other more recent volumes are available through Humanities Full Text, but only the last entry on the list SportDiscus includes the most recent volume.

Within a database, if the article is not available full text, you can make an InterLibrary Loan request for the article.

 

 

 

Music, Theatre, & Dance Librarian

Music Library's picture
Music Library
Contact:
GML Building, 2nd Floor East Wing
414-229-5529
Website