Skip to main content

Graduate Research in Music - Music 710: Useful Tools

Using resources in the UWM Music Library. Developed for the Graduate Research in Music Course.

Fun Stuff

Chicago Manual of Style Online - completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Chicago Manual of Style Online incorporates the popular Chicago Style Q&A, a resource that thousands have found as entertaining as it is informative. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. Your queries will return results clearly distinguishable from both the Manual and the Chicago Style Q&A.

Google Scholar - Records and citations from Google's Web Index calculated to be scholarly. Although useful for most topics, it still contains a fraction of available publications and I recommend using the subject specific databases that we pay for rather than Google Scholar.

NOTE: If you use Google Scholar, you NEVER have to pay to retrieve results. The full text of some of the results may be available  and you can locate them using Search@UW. If it is not available, UWM will get it for you through ILL and Citation Linker will provide you that option if we don't have access to it.

 

The Oxford English Dictionary is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It includes 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
 

RefWorks - RefWorks is a web-based tool that helps you manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA. To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free.

The LibGuide for how to use RefWorks is here (NB: the code you need to set up your account is on the front page of this guide)

Music, Theatre, & Dance Librarian

Music Library's picture
Music Library
Contact:
GML Building, 2nd Floor East Wing
414-229-5529
Website