Skip to main content

Graduate Research in Music - Music 710: Databases in Music

Using resources in the UWM Music Library. Developed for the Graduate Research in Music Course.

Databases To Search

These databases are all accessed from the UWM Libraries

Resources A-to-Z page

 

Databases -- Music Specific

New Grove -- Full-text access to the 2001 edition of NGII - This is actually called Oxford Music Online now and includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music

RILM -- Index/Abstract of scholarly and non-English journals and dissertations. 

RISM -- Contains data on Series A/II: Music manuscripts after 1600. It includes 700,000 searchable entries for historical music manuscripts of some 25,000 composers (the majority originated before 1800). The original sources are available from the libraries, music archives, and private collections in 32 countries.

IIMP -- Full Text access to journals of more popular interest including pedagogical journals from instrument societies, Also includes some indexing for older titles with links to full text when available

African American Music Reference -- African American Music Reference includes text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music -- The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music. This release includes 1,209 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples. We also have this in paper in the Reference Collection. The call number is (RMU) ML100 G16 1999. Each volume of the pring edition is accompanied by a compact disc is with the call number C-Disc Z ANR 4928 v. 1-9  

Music Index -- Indexing only of a wide range of journals in music. Call number for the back run : (RMU) ML118 M84 1949-

 

Databases -- Not Music-Specific, but with *LOTS* of Music materials

 

Academic Search -- Interdisciplinary database that has a little bit about a lot of subjects

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 - African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 - African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Biography & Geneology Master Index - Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains over 13 million biographical sketches. Current reference sources are indexed, as well as retrospective works that cover individuals from a number of fields and areas of the world. Sources include biographical dictionaries and "who's whos", subject encyclopedias, volumes of literary criticism, and indices.

Dissertations & Theses - dating back to 1861 with full text of most of the dissertations written since 1997.

Gale Artemis - Gale Artemis: Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across Gale primary source collections. It takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Currently, Gale Artemis: Primary Sources includes Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) and Sabin Americana. It also includes early newspapers from the UK and the US.

JSTOR -- Full-image scanned back-runs of journals, i.e. this is NOT current issues, but 3 or 5 years old and older with new volumes added on a rolling-horizon basis. NOTE: JSTOR will now link you out to current contents if UWM has access to it. 

Marquis' Who's Who - Marquis Who's Who provides access to basic biographical profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 1 simultaneous user for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.

Proquest Congressional Publications  - provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.The database indexes and provides selected full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).

Proquest Historical Newspapers - New York Times - back to 1851. The Chicago Tribune, the LA Times, The Washington Post, the Wall Street Journal, and Chicago Defender are also there.

Project MUSE -- Full-text journals and books on a variety of subjects. Includes music-specific titles, and a variety of interdisciplinary titles that should be looked at.

Web of Science -- Don't be fooled by the name: This is really the Citation Index. Find out how frequently an author's work is used.

WorldCat -- Confirm the existence of a book, score, or recording and place ILL requests for it if we don't own it, or it isn't in the UW System.

Music, Theatre, & Dance Librarian

Music Library's picture
Music Library
Contact:
GML Building, 2nd Floor East Wing
414-229-5529
Website