Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work 306: Get Articles

Recommended resources for SOCWRK 306 Introduction to Social Welfare Policy

Identifying "Scholarly" or "Academic" Sources

Not sure the source you are looking at would be considered "scholarly" or "academic"? Here are a few clues to look for:

  • Author credentials and expertise - is there evidence the writer is an expert on this topic? Clues might be a listed academic degree (e.g., PhD), a related job/position title or a work/employer affiliation.
  • Bibliography/References - Scholarly publications are based on research and will cite the sources used. No "references" listed? Choose another source!
  • Publisher - scholarly books are often published by university presses and scholarly associations.

Social Work Best Bets

What should I Use When?

 

Recommended Research Databases

Under "Search and Find" on the UWM Libraries homepage, the Databases A-Z link leads to an alphabetical list of databases. Some index journals, magazines and newspapers from various subject disciplines, while others are collections containing the electronic full text of such journals. The resources listed below index articles related to your course topic Society, Poverty and Welfare Programs.

Also see Resources by Subject for additional access to research databases and selected websites.

is a helpful tool for locating electronic or print copies of articles available at the UWM Libraries. If one database does not have the full text of an article, use to determine if the article is available from any of our online resources or in print at the UWM Libraries. If the article is not immediately available, will link to Interlibrary Loan and fill in a request for the article!