Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These PubMed database tutorials will help you learn to navigate the PubMed platform with interactive step-by-step instructions on how to do each of the following things.
Each tutorial takes about three minutes.
Databases for Locating Evidence-Based Research
Over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
The Cochrane Library is a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases that brings together relevant research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions. It can be used to inform healthcare decision-making for hundreds of medical conditions, plus related topics such as injury prevention. The Cochrane Library is recognized worldwide as a source of high-quality, independent evidence for healthcare interventions.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,155 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date, clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care
ASHA Practice Policy
Practice Policy is part of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association's recommended practice guidelines. Many of these are based in evidence, and can and should be assessed using EBP.
AOTA Practice Guidelines
Official guidelines from the American Occupational Therapy Association. Many are based in evidence and are assessed for ongoing validity.
APTA Clincal Practice Guidelines
Official clinical practice guidelines--both evidence-based and not--from the American Physical Therapy Association. These are assessed for validity on a regular basis, but can be helpful prompts for research and used in the research process.
NASW Practice Standards and Guidelines
Official practice guidelines for social work from the National Association of Social Workers. These are both evidence and non-evidence based and are assessed periodically for validity.
From the American Association of Neuroscience Nurses The aim of the AANN Clinical Practice Guideline (CPG) series, created by the CPG Editorial Board, is to provide an overview on caring for a specific patient population as well as to provide nurses with a tool that will assist them in delivering the optimum quality-focused patient care. Please print these guides for your reference and share them with colleagues.
BMJ Clinical Practice Guidelines (UK)
Article from the British Medical Journal that describes the development, implementation, and appraisal of clinical practice guidelines. It also explores ways of increasing their use in nursing.
The Prevention Guidelines Database is a comprehensive compendium of all of the official guidelines and recommendations published by the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for the prevention of diseases, injuries, and disabilities. This compendium was developed to allow public health practitioners and others to quickly access the full set of CDC's guidelines from a single point, regardless of where they were originally published.
Veterans Affairs Clinical Practice Guidelines
VHA, in collaborations with the Department of Defense (DoD) and other leading professional organizations, has been developing clinical practice guidelines since the early 1990s. In 2010 the Institute of Medicine identified VA/DoD as leaders in clinical practice guideline development.
Implementation of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines is one strategy VHA has embraced to improve care by reducing variation in practice and systematizing “best practices”.