Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Acting 5 Theatre 570: Scene Work in Pre-Modern Texts: Theatre Companies and Libraries/Archives on the web

Finding what an actor might need to prepare to perform

Theatre Companies and Libraries/Archives on the Web

Web Sources from professional theatres can be incredibly useful, and are considered legitimate & citable.

 

 The Almeida Theatre has a series of podcasts that you can listen to here.

The National Theatre  - in London has a large collection of resources for learning about working in the theatre

 

Libraries, Professional Associations, and Archives provide remarkable resources as well - they often have the papers, photographs, diaries, etc. of famous actors, playwrites, directors, as well as the archives of actual theatres and theatre companies.

 

The New York Public Library http://www.nypl.org/search/apachesolr_search/tennessee%20williams

The Tennessee Williams / New Orleans Literary Festival http://www.tennesseewilliams.net/

The papers of Tennessee Williams are at Columbia University http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/archival/collections/ldpd_4079626/index.html

 

The UWM Libraries has the photo archive from the Milwaukee Repertory Theatre. You can see how local productions of Tennessee Williams' plays were presented http://uwm.edu/lib-collections/mkerep/

Other digital collections at the UWM Libraries might help you put plays in context. For example political upheaval that affects how a playwrite worked might be reflected in their setting for the play and photographs of a city in that time might give you an idea of why it was chosen. The UWM Digital Collections pages are all available from here http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/digilib/

 

The Margaret Herrick Library of the Academic of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences (the Oscars folks!) has an amazing array of materials on early film. Scanned journals, posters, even digitized film.

 American Theatre Wing - the home of the Tony's, runs a series of video and audio interviews on a regular basis. With actors, directors, critics, anyone involved in theatre production. Everything (or nearly so) is archived online. A few examples:

  • Their YouTube channel has hundreds of videos - interviews with practitioners, etc.
  • Working in the Theatre is a series of one-on-one video interviews with the theatre's leading artists and professionals, explaining each specific discipline in the theatre and what it takes to pursue that specialty and make a career in the theatre.

 

Music, Theatre, & Dance Librarian

Anna Grau Schmidt's picture
Anna Grau Schmidt
Contact:
Golda Meir Library, User Services
(414) 251-7510