Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are all accessed from the
UWM Libraries, i.e. they are not "The Internet"
Databases A-to-Z page
- Black Drama -- Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
- Milwaukee Repertory Theatre Photographic Collection -- The Milwaukee Repertory Theater Photographic History provides a visual chronicle of the artistic productions of the Milwaukee Repertory Theater in the years 1977-1994.
Interdisciplinary Resources - Many of these are full-text sources, and remember that this is just a selection from the full A-to-Z list that is linked to above
- Academic Search -- Interdisciplinary database that has a little bit about a lot of subjects - some are full text, others are not.
- Early English Books Online -- over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Historical Abstracts -- Historical Abstracts has article abstracts from over 2,000 journals, citation of books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities Full Text -- Humanities Full Text contains abstracting and indexing coverage for more than 530 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, the performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature. Full text is available for 185 journals starting with 1983.
- MLA International Bibliography indexes international scholarly materials, including over 4,400 journals, books, working papers, and conference proceedings on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. It is updated 10 times a year.
- Project MUSE -- Full-text journals on a variety of subjects. Includes eleven music-specific titles, ten education-specific titles, and a variety of interdisciplinary titles that should be looked at - some of these title dove-tail with JSTOR to provide a complete run online.
- JSTOR -- Full-image scanned back-runs of journals, i.e. this is NOT current issues, but 3 to 5 years old and older with new volumes added on a rolling-horizon basis. It is cover-to-cover, so it includes ads, letters to the editor, etc.
- Dissertations & Theses -- Web access dissertation listings from 1861 to the present. The last 2 years includes .pdf of first 24 pages of dissertation. If there is a title that you need a hard copy of, you can get one inexpensively through the Libraries through Dissertation Express
- Literary Reference Center -- Comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It is a comprehensive database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.
- Literature Criticism Online -- Brings together backfiles of several literary series from Gale: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online -- Unites multiple, distinct archives into a single resource, including a wide variety of previously unavailable primary sources ranging from books and monographs, newspapers and periodicals, diaries and personal letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, and maps. Initial archival modules include: British Politics and Society; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture.
- Oxford Art Online -- Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists. Use this to find artwork by visual artists from the same time as the playwrites you're working on.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 - 1974 -- The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives, 1960 to 1974 documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America vividly conveying the zeitgeist of the decade and its effects into the middle of the next. Alongside 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories, there are more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials.
- Transportation Around the World 1911-1993 -- Photographs of a wide variety of transportation methods used in 79 countries across the globe. The 650 images contained in this digital collection were selected from three separate photographic collections: the Harrison Forman Collection, Harold Mayer Collection, and American Geographical Society Library Print Collection. All three collections are housed in the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries' American Geographical Society (AGS) Library.
- Web of Science -- This is Citation Index. Find out how frequently an author's work is used.
- World Fact Book -- The World Factbook lists country profiles for each nation, including history, people, government, economy, military, industry, flags, and maps.
Newspapers - Excellent for finding contemporary & contemporaneous reviews of performances, obituaries, etc. These can be considered "Primary Source" materials
- Gale Artemis, searches 18th and 19th Century newspapers in the US and the UK, as well as a variety of other digital collections that cover the 17th Century through the early 20th Century.
- Lexis/Nexis Academic, full text of over 4,000 current newspapers - think reviews of current productions around the world - as well as legal, government, and business sources
- Newspaper Source Plus, Newspaper Source Plus is a full-text newspapers source and newspaper index. The database contains comprehensive full-text for major newspapers such as The New York Times, The Boston Globe, and Wisconsin newspapers Wisconsin State Journal and Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.
- Proquest Historical Newspaper is full text/image of the New York Times from 1851-2011, the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1990, the Chicago Defender from 1905-1975, the LA Times from 1881-1991, The Washington Post from 1887-1997, and the Wall Street Journal from 1889-1997
Biographical Information About the Living and the Dead
- Biography & Geneology Master Index -- Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains over 13 million biographical sketches. Current reference sources are indexed, as well as retrospective works that cover individuals from a number of fields and areas of the world. Sources include biographical dictionaries and "who's whos", subject encyclopedias, volumes of literary criticism, and indices.
- Contemporary Authors -- Contemporary Authors provides biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
- Marquis Who's Who -- Marquis Who's Who on the Web provides access to basic biographical profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports.
For Long Term Projects, you can set up email notification of new materials on your topic through many resources.
This Guide will help you figure out which and if any will help you.
Music, Theatre, & Dance Librarian