Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Known-Item Searching in WorldCat
WorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.
The UW System subscription to WorldCat via the FirstSearch and Discovery platforms expired on June 30, 2020.
One strategy for practice searching in WorldCat: Use the 'Books from Japan' site to find books in Japanese that are related to your topic. Then: copy and paste either the title or author name into WorldCat Advanced Search and limit the language to Japanese. Some of the books listed in 'Books from Japan' will be available via Inter-Library Loan. Sample below is searching for books in Japanese by a Japanese author:
MORE ON: WorldCat Searching in Japanese
NOTE: You can change the search language to Japanese by clicking on the Japanese language-designation from the WorldCat's default search page. Here is the direct link to that WorldCat's Japanese interface. It should look like this:
Google Search Options in Japanese
Kotenski Sogo Database
Kotenski Sogo Database
Provides access to the Waseda University Library’s collection of Japanese and Chinese classics, in the form of bibliographical information, related scholarly materials as well as full-text images. Includes approximately 300,000 items, including two National Treasures and five Important Cultural Properties.
J'Lit: Books from Japan
Books from Japan is an ongoing online "book fair" that introduces Japanese works of fiction and nonfiction to overseas publishers, editors, and other interested readers. The site is operated by the nonprofit J-Lit Center with the cooperation of publishers in Japan.
The site has two main sections: a database of books selected by the J-Lit Center, and a Publishers' Corner of "booths" where participating publishers can introduce their books. The database features books in the following categories:
- Literature: Works that have won one of Japan's major literary awards since 2000.
- Children & YA: Works for children and young adults selected by a committee of specialists in juvenile literature.
- Language Texts: The most widely exported texts used in Japanese-language pedagogy overseas.
- Other Categories: Works in how-to, hobby, and other non-literature categories.
- Books on Japan provides synopses and author profiles for hundreds of books in these categories, with more added on a regular basis throughout the year.
- Additionally, the site's News & Updates section provides news and commentary on books published in Japan, while the Publishers' Corner provides Japanese publishers with space to introduce new books, bestsellers, and upcoming publications.
CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, pronounced like "sigh-knee") is a database service which can be searched with academic information of articles, Books & Journals.
Searching is free but, when viewing paid content, special rates and other privileges are offered to institutional fixed-price users (registration by institution) or users with an ID (individual registration). UWM does not subscribe.
Main CiNii Site
Provides general information (in English) about CiNii.
Search for articles via this interface. You can limit to 'Linked Fulltext' to get the fulltext links to pdf files.
Search this database for information about books and journals held by university libraries in Japan. Very little fulltext available. Use this to search for book titles and then search 'Search@UW' or 'Worldcat' to obtain the book via Inter-Library Loan.
Operated by the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Web Japan provides information about Japanese culture across various genres including sightseeing, society, history and nature. The content is provided primarily in English, but a portion of the site is multilingual.
Texts focuses on aspects of Japanese culture such as food, calligraphy and manga.
Web magazine that serves as an introduction to modern Japan. NOTE: Change the language displayed via a link on the upper right corner.
Japan Video Topics
Offers multilingual streaming content on Japanese culture, nature, science and technology, tourism and more.
Doctoral Dissertation Database from the University of Tokyo. At first glance, it does not appear to include much, if any, fulltext.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Japanese Scientific Journal Databases
J-STAGE (The Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic) is a repository of academic journal articles and research papers created and maintained by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JSTA). Entries marked with the “Free/PDF” icon are available in full-text form free of charge. Other entries consist of bibliographic citations only. If an item's full text is not available, use ILL. Access to J-STAGE is free, and the site is available independent of the UWM Libraries website.
NII: National Institute of Informatics
NII: National Institute of Informatics Main Site
The National Institute of Informatics (NII) seeks to advance integrated research and development activities in information-related fields, including networking, software, and content.
NII promotes the creation of a state-of-the-art academic-information infrastructure (the Cyber Science Infrastructure, or CSI) that is essential to research and education within the broader academic community.
JAIRO: Japanese Institutional Repositories Online
JAIRO is a succeeding service of JuNii+ (test version) (Japanese) in which academic information (journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, research papers, etc.) accumulated in Japanese institutional repositories* can be searched for cross-sectionally.
Academic Research Database Repository. Does not look like much, if any, fulltext is available via this search portal.