Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Curated selection of primary sources designed for teaching and learning about the history of Black Americans. Periods include:
Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Black Literature Index
Black Studies Index allows users to search over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals and historical newspaper articles.
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience is a unique database that examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays accompanied by detailed time lines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more. The essays are contributed by leading academic experts who have surveyed and analyzed the most important existing research literature in their respective fields.
Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides access to articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes several reference works with print counterparts - Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experiences, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, Black Women in America, African American National Biography, and several other African American reference works. Over 1,000 images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, and over 100 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content. Over 100 charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 5 simultaneous users for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.