Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online Starting Points | Religion Overviews
Buddhism | Overview
A religious tradition that emerged in India around the 6th to 5th century BC and spread throughout Asia. The term ‘Buddhism’ is a creation of Western scholarship, in which it is sometimes defined as a philosophy, civilization or culture rather than (or as well as) a religion.
Shinto | Overview
The Japanese term Shinto derives from the Chinese words shen (‘deity’) and dao (‘way’) and in current usage subsumes various heterogeneous practices and creeds, tending to convey the notion that there is a single indigenous religious tradition in Japan. However, it in fact refers to at least three distinct historical realities and processes.
Daoism/Taoism | Overview
Chinese system of ethical, religious and magical beliefs traditionally ascribed to Laozi (c. 570–490 BC) and expounded in the Daode jing (‘Classic of the way and virtue’). The central tenets of Daoism are concerned with the understanding and proper practice of the Dao (‘Way’).
Confucianism | Overview
Set of beliefs, morals and social values based on the teachings of the Chinese philosopher Confucius (Chin. Kongzi; c. 551–479 BC). Although the following article relates solely to the influence of Confucian thought on art in China, Confucianism and its various subsequent revivals also had a great influence on developments elsewhere in East and South-east Asia.
Library Journal Databases | History & Religion
America: History & Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials contains citations and some full text to international periodicals, books, and book chapters on religion and theological studies. Areas covered include Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Historical Abstracts has article abstracts from over 2,000 journals, citation of books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until December 31.) JSTOR archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists
) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. UWM has full text access to over 29,000 ebooks and 350 journals. Searching can be limited to subscribed full text access by choosing the books or journals tab and checking off a full text access box.
Primary Source Research Resources | Social History of Places
Gale Primary Sources
Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across Gale primary source collections. It takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 (Gale Primary Sources)
Sabin Americana: History of the
Americas, 1500–1926 is based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, containing approximately 29,000 works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
Gilded Age, The
Spanning from 1865 to 1902, The Gilded Age provides insight into the key issues that shaped America in the late nineteenth century, including race and ethnicity, immigration, labor, women's rights, American Indians, political corruption, and monetary policy. The Gilded Age brings together primary documents and scholarly commentary into a searchable collection that is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information. It includes letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews and other personal narratives.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes 150,000 pages of diaries and letters from over 1,325 women.