Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
START HERE: Google Image Searching
START HERE: Google Image Searching
First place to start for finding building plans. Enter your building name and include other search terms such as: plans, diagrams, blueprints, elevations.
Google Advanced Image Searching
Allows users to narrow by image size, aspect ratio, colors in the images retrieved, type of image, region, site/domain, file type and usage rights along with enabling SafeSearch function.
Search@UW | Requesting Books to be Held for Pick Up at the Main Circulation Desk
Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.
Search tips for finding building plans in books:
If the record indicates this: ill. -OR- illustrations -OR- chiefly ill. -OR- illus. -OR- plans -- that means that illustrations/plans are included.
You may also want to request books from the stacks to be held for pick-up at the Main Circulation Desk. Many books written prior to @ 1990 have brief catalog records and may include exactly what you're looking for, but, once you get the book, you will need to consult in the indexes and tables of contents -- or perhaps even PAGE THROUGH THE BOOK to see if plans are included for the building you're modeling.
Do NOT confine your search to your building name. Try the architect's name and geographical location too.
Finding Journal Articles / Some might contain images, plans and diagrams
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, published by the Getty Research Institute, is a comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 2,500 US and foreign journals. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
Art Full Text
Art Full Text covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections until December 31.) JSTOR archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists
) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
Sometimes there are plans associated with Arstor catalog records. Try searching by building name or the architect to start.
Artstor is a digital library of over 2 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The library is constantly growing with new collections added monthly, continually expanding areas of reference and study. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use. Detailed Artstor-produced Library Guides
are available as well as a Artstor-produced Library Guide for Copyright and Image Use in the Artstor Digital Library
Other Image Databases to Try
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.