Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until June 28) Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Access Engineering includes major engineering reference works such as Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers as well as advanced tools such as calculators, interactive tables, videos, and data visualization of material properties
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Annual Resources has temporarily opened access to all current and archival content until June 15) Annual Reviews provides collections of critical reviews in a variety of disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. UWM has current subscriptions for limited titles but has back file access for all titles for years covering 1932-2009.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Arcadian Library Online enables easy exploration of the rich holdings of the Arcadian Library, revealing the shared cultural heritage of Europe and the Middle East across the course of a millennium. Images are displayed in high resolution, full colour and include bindings, clasps and page edges.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is the ultimate guide to a visual arts education. This comprehensive resource offers instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Architecture Library Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. The platform offers access to a carefully curated collection of fully-searchable text and image content, incorporating the new edition of Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture and 40 other e-books.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Collections delivers instant access to quality research and provides libraries with a flexible way to build eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences. It contains over 6,000 titles, featuring content from Bloomsbury’s latest research publications as well as a 100+ year legacy including Continuum, T&T Clark, Bristol Classical Press, Berg, The Arden Shakespeare and Hart Publishing.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Cultural History is an extraordinary, fully cross-searchable digital resource that engages with culture throughout the ages from antiquity to modernity. Thanks to its interdisciplinary nature and ever-expanding collections, this unique digital reference tool promises to be an essential resource on many courses from cultural studies and sociology to history and anthropology.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies offers systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies around the world.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers features critical biographies of individuals who have contributed to the history of intellectual thought. Growing each year, it currently includes over 8,000 thinkers from North America, Britain, Ireland, France, Germany, the Netherlands, and the Middle East.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive documents fashion’s most spectacular era, from 1973 to 2003. The videos are accompanied by exclusive scholarly articles that provide essential context to the collection, shedding light on key shows, the evolution of trends, iconic designers, and the transformation of runway spectacles to performance art.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Food Library is home to the widest-ranging existing collection of food studies content. It reflects the interdisciplinary nature of this growing subject, making it an essential resource for students, researchers, and scholars studying food, on courses as wide-ranging as history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Medieval Studies is a new interdisciplinary digital resource with a global perspective which will open up the medieval world for students and scholars. It brings together high-quality secondary content with visual primary sources, a brand new reference work and material culture images into one cross-searchable platform, to support this rich field of study.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Bloomsbury Popular Music brings together leading scholarship and interactive tools to hit the right note for research and learning. It is an ideal resource for students and academics across disciplines including music, ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until June 28) Business Source Ultimate offers more than 3,000 full-text journals (including peer-reviewed titles) and magazines on accounting, finance, banking, marketing, management, and more. It also has business case studies, country economic reports and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until June 28) eBook Academic Collection is a multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishes and university presses.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until June 9) Complete catalog of e-books published by Harvard Business Review Press; over 600 e-resources including 400+ monographs (newly published and seminal works) and 150+ article compilations.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until June 30) GeoScienceWorld Books
are a comprehensive resource of eBooks for researchers in the Earth Sciences.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) The Human Kinetics Library provides market-leading sports and physical activity content, featuring an exclusive package of over 150 ebooks and 200 videos.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 30) IThe IEEE eLearning Library offers hundreds of course hours in core and emerging technologies, providing professionals, faculty, and students with a better way to learn.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) The IET Digital Library Ebooks offers access to more than 600 ebooks covering topics such as computing, data security, electromagnetic waves, healthcare technologies, materials, sensors, and telecommunications.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until June 15) Jove Science Education is a revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (JSTOR has temporarily activated all archive and primary source collections as well as 25,000 ebooks until June 30.) JSTOR archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until June 30) Recent Researches in Music Online (RRIMO) provides online access from 2018 to titles published in the seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American (including MUSA), and Oral Traditions.
New
[Note that registration is required before use and is only available for faculty, staff and students of UWM. See Research & Course Guides: Chemistry for more information.] SciFinder-n is a research tool that identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform taking users from script to screen and beyond – offering a broad range of content from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and the British Film Institute to support moving-image studies. It is an essential resource for academics and students engaged in research and learning in film history, theory, and practice.
Trial
Social Explorer provides easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Contains over 15,000 thematic and interactive maps, the entire U.S. Census from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 data release. Also includes the American Community Survey through the most current release, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2000 with the addition of 2010 and other recent data planned.
Trial ends May 31 2020. Please fill out evaluation form with your feedback.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until May 31) Theology and Religion Online offers students and scholars a richly layered resource devoted and dedicated to research, study, and teaching in Theology, Biblical Studies, and Religious Studies.
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until June 30) U.S. Documents Masterfile: 1774-2020 provides indexing for United States Government publications beginning in 1774 through the present
New
COVID-19 Extended Access Resource (Until June 3) Women's Magazine Archive provides the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...