Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Evidence-Based Practice?
Evidence-Based Practice is a form of decision making based upon a system that integrates a well-formed question based on witnessed phenomena or problem in healthcare practice, experience, or fieldwork that takes a specific tack in locating and interpreting the appropriateness of evidence from literature in the field and applying it to the situation in conjunction with patient preference and need as well as feasibility for the clinical practice or field location.
The process is designed to provide quality healthcare service and outcomes to populations and patients.
Evidence based [practice] is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. The practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research. By individual clinical expertise we mean the proficiency and judgment that individual clinicians acquire through clinical experience and clinical practice.
Sackett, D. L., Rosenberg, W. M. C., Gray, J. A. M., Haynes, R. B., & Richardson, W. S. (1996). Evidence based medicine: What it is and what it isn’t. BMJ
(7023), 71–72. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.312.7023.71
The steps of Evidence-Based Practice
EndNote Web is a freely available web-based citation management tool. It allows you to store up to 50,000 references and up to 2 GB of pdfs. it allows you to Collect references by searching online databases or importing your existing collection; Organize and group references in any way that works for you. Then share your groups with colleagues; and Use a plugin to format bibliographies and cite references while you write.
Mendeley is a citation management tool that allows you to Add papers directly from your browser with a few clicks or import any documents from your desktop. Access your library from anywhere. Windows, Mac, Linux and all browsers. It also allows you to Generate references, citations and bibliographies in a whole range of journal styles with just a few clicks.
Purdue OWL: APA
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and citation
Zotero is an open source, freely available desktop and web-based citation management tool that allows you to manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA (among others). To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free.
Regularly updated calendar of the UWM Libraries' hours--on all campuses and service points.
Reserve a Study Room
Use D!bs to reserve a group study room in the Daniel M. Soref Learning Commons (at GML) or at UWM Washington County.
Hours and Information about the Grind, a coffee shop located within the Golda Meir Library.
Course Reserve Search
See if what you need is on course reserve--this could be your textbook for a class, etc.
floorplans and maps of the Golda Meir Library at UWM's Milwaukee main campus.
How to Print in the library and on campus.
Evidence-Based Practice Best Bets
Over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
The Cochrane Library is a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases that brings together relevant research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions. It can be used to inform healthcare decision-making for hundreds of medical conditions, plus related topics such as injury prevention. The Cochrane Library is recognized worldwide as a source of high-quality, independent evidence for healthcare interventions.
Web of Science
Web of Science includes three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes over 12,000 journals and 120,000 conference proceedings with the strongest coverage in the sciences (over 8,500 journals), followed by social sciences (over 3,000 journals), and arts and humanities (over 1,700 fully indexed journals). Our Web of Science subscription includes articles published from 1987 to the present; updated weekly. For impact factor information about specific journals use Journal Citation Reports.
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,155 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date, clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care
NASW Practice Standards and Guidelines
Official practice guidelines for social work from the National Association of Social Workers. These are both evidence and non-evidence based and are assessed periodically for validity.