Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Unpublished Tests & Measures
Many tests mentioned or named in journal articles or dissertations have never been separately published. Contacting the author directly is often the most efficient way to locate a test instrument and/or gain permission to reuse it. Your librarian may be able to help locate that author and/or the Interlibrary Loan office may be able to obtain a copy of the instrument. Please ask, and we will do our best to help you to obtain the access you need.
Sources for Identifying Tests, Measures and Survey Instruments
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for over 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,155 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO)
ERIC is the source for information on all aspects of education for all age groups, including counseling, tests, and measurement. ERIC indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, standards and guidelines.
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
ETS Test Link
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation of such materials in the world.
The tests in this collection were acquired from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Foreign tests are also included in the collection, including some from Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia.
Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures.
A print directory of experimental mental measures, tests, and surveys that are not commercially available.
Longitudinal Studies of Child Abuse and Neglect
Measures Manuals -
* Early Childhood (Age 4)
* Middle Childhood (Ages 6-8)
* Early Adolescence (Ages 12-14)
* Adolescence (Age 16)
* Young Adulthood (Age 18)
Each section includes descriptions and origins of each measure, how the measures are administered and scored, norms and comparative data, descriptive statistics from the LONGSCAN samples, data on reliability and validity, and copies of the instruments