Introduction
This page lists library programs and services for advanced computer users. For more information about these tools, contact John Hubbard or Ask a Librarian.
You can also keep up with services and envents by following Library News on a variety of social media platforms.
Advanced users may also benefit from reviewing the Frequently Asked Questions and the Find It! Help page.
Subject Guide
Links: Profile & Guides |
Address Bar Searching
These functions add multiple destinations for search queries typed in to your browser's address bar. For example, if you map the Oxford English Dictionary link to the keyword "d," typing in "d word" to your address bar will look up that word in the OED online.
Firefox users can add the URLs in the links below to their bookmarks, then designate keywords (under the bookmark's properties) to call a search from the address bar. Note that in some cases the links below redirect to other addresses, so you must copy a link's properties into a bookmark, or drag the links below to your Bookmarks folder.
- Academic Search
- Amazon
- Citation Linker (Journal Title)
- ERIC
- Google UWM
- MEDLINE
- Oxford English Dictionary
- PantherCat - Keyword
- Wikipedia
Not all library databases support this syntax. See the Firefox Custom Keywords guide for more information.
Bookmarklets
These scripts allow you to search highlighted text in various search engines.
Instructions: Drag the links below to your Favorites/Bookmarks folder. Highlight text on a Web page and click on the links to search the highlighted text.
- Search Citation Linker - Journal Title
- Search Oxford English Dictionary
- Search Google
- Search UWM Library Catalog - ISBN
- Search UWM Library Catalog - ISSN
For more information on bookmarklets, see Bookmarklets.com. Other library-related bookmarklets are available at OCLC Research, RefGrab-It (for RefWorks), and John Udell's LibraryLookup.
Browser Add-On
A LibX toolbar is available for Firefox and Internet Explorer users. This provides access to library shortcuts and the ability to search the catalog from your browser toolbar.
DOI Searching
To search for an article with a DOI (Digital Object Identifier), use Citation Linker. Only the DOI needs to be entered.
You can also set a cookie on your browser to have DOI links on the web go to the Citation Linker.
EndNote & RefWorks Information
EndNote
EndNote is a bibliographic citation manager program. We do not provide access or support to EndNote, other than the information below. The UWM Libraries does not support searching library databases with EndNote.
To take advantage of a database's full search features it is best to use its native web interface, save the results to a local file and then import the results into EndNote by using the appropriate Import Filter. However, an EBSCOhost Connection File is available if you wish to try searching on your own. You will need to change the database name to connect to a title other than Academic Search.
To enable OpenURL links from a recent version of EndNote, under Edit > Preferences > OpenURL, check the "Enable OpenURL" box and enter http://sfx.wisconsin.edu/uwm for the OpenURL path. Please note that unless your EndNote library items contain an ISSN, ISBN, or DOI, links will not work properly.
The Bibliographic Database Management Software guides at the UW-Madison Library Website provide some tips for using these programs. For further assistance using bibliographic citation manager software, contact the software maker.
RefWorks
RefWorks, a web-based bibliographic citation manager tool, is available from the list of library databases. Refer to the quick start guide for more information.
Google Scholar Settings
"Institutional Access" via the Google Scholar Preferences is available for UW-Milwaukee.
Library News
What's New @ UWM Libraries can be read by a newsreader program via http://uwmlibraries.blogspot.com/feeds/posts/default?alt=rss.
You can also keep up with services and envents by following Library News on a variety of social media platforms, including Facebook and Twitter.
Wireless Internet Access
Access is available in most areas of the library building. You must configure your computer with your ePanther ID and password to gain full access. For more information, see UWM WiFi.
Off-Campus URL Generator
Use the Off-Campus URL Generator to create login links to online subscriptions.
Mobile-friendly Catalog Interface
The Library Catalog can be searched by a mobile device. Look for the "Go Mobile" link to switch to a simplified interface designed for mobile devices.
We also have a guide to Mobile-friendly Databases.


Loading...
