Skip to main content

National History Day: Research

This guide provides resources and research strategies for National History Day students.

History Databases

America: History and Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

JSTOR
JSTOR archives and provides access to archival and current issues of more than 1,400 scholarly journals across more than 50 academic disciplines (title lists). The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.

Schomberg Studies on the Black Experience
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience is a unique database that examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays accompanied by detailed time lines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more. The essays are contributed by leading academic experts who have surveyed and analyzed the most important existing research literature in their respective fields.

ProQuest Congressional Publications
​ProQuest Congressional Publications provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
The database indexes and provides selected full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).

Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus provides full text for over 140 magazines, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and junior high school students.

More databases here (World History) and here (US History).

What databases can I use when I'm not at UWM?

BadgerLink is available at your school and public libraries and provides access to some of the same databases that UWM has. However, the interface may be different. One that works well for history is History Reference Center.

Internet Resources

Digital Public Library of America- Best Bet!
Primary source collections from institutions across the country

American Memory-Best Bet!
Library of Congress; open access to historical resources

UWM Libraries Digital Collections-Best Bet!
Local, national, and global materials from the UWM Archives, UWM Special Collections, and American Geographical Society Library

The Avalon Project
Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy, and Government

Center for History and the New Media
Resources, essays, and information

Making of America
Primary sources, digitized books and periodicals, mostly from the 19th century US

Wisconsin Heritage Organization
Digitized primary sources from collections in Wisconsin