Skip to main content

National History Day: 2016 Topics

This guide provides resources and research strategies for National History Day students.

Student Topics

* - collection available for transfer
** - UWM archival collection, materials need to be pulled
DB - in an electronic database (need to be logged in to UWM libraries to access)
Additional sources are available on the book cart
Dropbox Items

Intolerable acts (Room B) Belle- The Boston Port Acts, which was signed by King George the III and the Parliament on March 30, of 1774, was a direct response to Boston's protests, such as the Boston Tea Party and Massacre. The document that they created, “The Boston Port Act”, basically states that the Boston Port is closed, and if any vessels enter the port will be searched and confiscated. After it was passed King George the III said, “The die is now cast. The colonies must either submit or triumph.” That said, he gave the colonies only one choice, to stand up to Britain. This was not the only law passed there were five laws passed in all, that were also in response to the protests.
The Coercive Acts- Digital library source with imbedded primary source documents
The able doctor, or American swallowing the bitter draught
Observations on the act of Parliament commonly called the Boston port-bill

Al Capone (Room A) Abbi-Al Capone's rise to power and and taking a stand against prohibition
National Archives Exhibit: Al Capone Verdict
United States of America v. Alphonse Capone
FBI Records: The Vault- Link leads to documents created prior to Capone's arrest
Encyclopedia of Chicago
History Files: Al Capone

Al Capone's hideout during Prohibition

Al Capone photos

Branch Rickey (Room B) TiffanyWesley Branch Rickey was the first ever baseball general manager to sign a black baseball player in Major League Baseball. Branch Rickey signed Jackie Robinson to the Brooklyn Dodgers in August 28, 1945. 
Integration - Correspondence and Clippings: papers 1937-1980-15 letters from with Branch Rickey as the subject
Wendell Smith Papers
WTMJ News Film 5/20/1953- See Dropbox link at top of guide

Viola Liuzzo (Room A) AshlieIn 1965 Viola Liuzzo attended the voting rights march from Selma, Alabama to Montgomery, Alabama. When she left to go to the march she left a family of five children and a husband. After the march Viola carpooled some of the marchers back to their homes. When Viola was dropping off the last person, Leroy Moton a 19-year-old man, off at is home a van full of KKK members pulled up beside her car. The van tried to drive Viola and Leroy off of the road but when that attempt failed, one of the members pulled out a gun and shot Viola in the head. The 39 year old died instantly and the car crashed just off the side of the road.
Viola Liuzzo Murder FBI File
*Tinglum, Ottar Letter
Encyclopedia of Alabama​
Killed For Taking Part In 'Everybody's Fight'​-NPR Segment

Fort Sumter(Room A) AbbiIn 1861 Fort Sumter was attacked. Fort Johnson was at the ready to use their mortar batteries. They also had a pack of riflemen at the ready to attack the fort.Fort Sumter survived the attack but not by much. No one died in the battle. This attack only lasted a few days not that long.
*Poem, 1861
Telegram Announcing the Surrender of Fort Sumter
Fort Sumter National Monument Document Collections
The diary of Edmund Ruffin. Edited, with an introd. and notes, by William Kauffman Scarborough-UWM Libraries Stacks (Call Number: F230 R9314)
Voices from the Civil War : a documentary history of the great American conflict- UWM Libraries Curriculum Collection (Call Number: 973.7 V889)

Bayard Rustin (Room B) Tiffany-In Montgomery, Alabama in 1965 Bayard Rustin was an organizer and strategist for Martin Luther King Jr for The March on Washington. 
Rustin Letter to MLK
Rustin Memo on Washington March
Rustin Speech 1964
Rustin Malcom X Debate-Youtube video 
Bayard Rustin Interview 1982
The 100 greatest Americans of the 20th century a social justice hall of fame / Peter Dreier- eBook chapter (See Dropbox link at top of guide)

Clara Barton (Room A) ChristelClara Barton was working as a recording clerk, in the U.S Patient Office in Washington D.C. when the first units of Federal Troops poured into the city, in 1861.The Civil War was just beginning, wounded soldiers were in need and Clara knew she had to do something. Barton gave support to the families of soldiers, while she knew who really needed the most help, the men on the battlefield
Robert LaFollette Papers, Reels 63 & 64-2 letters available in Dropbox (see link at top of the guide)
Clara Barton Papers
Portrait
*​Clara Barton miscellany, 1888-1917

Dred Scott (Room B) Molly -On March 6, 1857, the United States Supreme Court issued a ruling on the Dred Scott vs Sanford case. The court’s decision allowed slave owners to take their slaves to go into western territories. Primary Documents in American History: Dred Scott v. Sandford
The Revised Dred Scott Case Collection
Powerful words : more than 200 years of extraordinary writing by African Americans-Dred Scott's Petition for freedom- eBook Chapter (see Dropbox link at top of guide)

Jane Goodall (Room B) Heidi -Dr. Jane Goodall founded her organization, the Jane Goodall institute, in 1977 and took a stand to work for the greater good of animals. Dr. Goodall protected primate’s rights by staying in Africa for 50 years, specifically in Gombe Stream National Park, Tanzania.​
Jane Goodall and "Hope for Animals"-Lecture at the Library of Congress
Through a window : my thirty years with the chimpanzees of Gombe-UWM Libraries Stacks (Call Number: QL31 G58 A3 1990)
Africa in my blood : an autobiography in letters : the early years-UWM Libraries Stacks (Call Number: QL31.G58 A3 2000a)
How one woman changed the definition of man and asked 'what is human?'
Roots and Shoots Gombe Street View

The 1st All American Girls Professional Baseball League (Room A) Ashlie- Philip Wrigley, owner of the Chicago Cubs and founder of the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League(AAGPBL), took a stand when he came up with the idea of starting a girls’ baseball league. During this time of war in 1942, many men had been recruited to join the armed forces, and men's baseball leagues were in danger around the country. So, Wrigley made a proposal to start a women's baseball league in order to prevent the baseball stadiums from closing.
*​Wisconsin Women during World War II Oral History Project Interviews, 1992-1994
Kenosha Comets: stats images, and players-Other team links available on page
Racine Belles Yearbook
A League of Their Own-WHS Historical Essay

Oshkosh Black Thursday (Room A) Abbi-On November 21, 1968, 94 students at the University of Oshkosh Wisconsin took a stand by protesting for equal rights. The 94 African American were protesting against housing discrimination, racial harassment in college dorms, and fair grading policies. Also the students were fighting for courses on African American history and literature. These protests were executed in the University President's executive office.
UW-Oshkosh Black Thursday Collection-Digital Library with imbedded primary source materials
*Wis Equal Rights Division. Part 3E (1982/162): General Correspondence and Subject File: Additions, 1946-1973
DB Oshkosh Daily Northwestern November 21, 1968- "Black Student Badly Damage Dempsey Hall" (available through NewspaperArchive)
DB Oshkosh Daily Northwestern November 22, 1968 "Discuss Course of Action Against Students" (available through NewspaperArchive)
Black Protest, White Hysteria-Article written by UWO History Professor

Curt Flood and the Reserve Clause (Room B) Brad -Curt Flood took a stand by fighting for free agency in the MLB and did everything to get it. After Curt Flood's 1969 MLB season with the St. Louis Cardinals, his contract was sold to the Philadelphia Phillies. He made the decision to write a letter to the commissioner of Major League Baseball, Bowie Kuhn, to fight for his case. He also made the decision to risk his Major League Baseball career because he knew even if he won in court, there would be no way he would get another job in baseball again.
Curt Flood Act
Curtis C. Flood vs. Bowie K. Kuhn, et. al papers
Late innings : a documentary history of baseball, 1945-1972​-UWM Libraries Stacks (Call Number: GV863.A1 L28 2002)
Curt Flood Player Statistics​
Curt Flood Biography

Black Sox Trial (Room B) Brad-The 1919 Chicago White Sox were one of the best baseball teams with a record of 88-52. Because of low salaries, 8 players were involved in the “fix”. This was the throwing or intentionally losing the world series in exchange for money from gamblers. The Chicago White Sox lost the world series 3-5 to the Cincinnati Reds. The 8 players involved were “Shoeless” Joe Jackson, Chick Gandil, Buck Weaver, Eddie Cicotte, Oscar Felsch, Fred McMullin, Swede Risberg, and Claude Williams. Judge Kenesaw Landis was appointed to Commissioner and he banned the 8 players from baseball.
Selected court documents from Black Sox trial​
Black Sox Trial Digital Collection
1919 World Series MLB Statistics
DB-ProQuest Historical NewsPapers-Chicago Tribune
The Eight
DB-Sport and Society : Saying It's So : A Cultural History of the Black Sox Scandal- eBook

Rosa Parks (Room B) Molly-Rosa Parks, a black woman, sits down on the Montgomery bus, in Alabama, on December 1, 1955. The bus driver James F. Blake demanded her to stand up and move for a white man. She refused and ended up getting arrested because she stood up for civil rights and against segregation.
Rosa Park Collection​
Rosa Parks Papers
Rosa Parks : my story / by Rosa Parks, with Jim HaskinsUWM Libraries Curriculum Collection (Call Number: 921 P252r)
Rosa Parks Interview


Sons of Liberty:The Stamp Act (Room B) Brad-The Sons of Liberty, Stamp act, was a crucial time in 1765. The stamp act was a tax implied by British prime minister George Grenville and was required to be paied to affix a stamp to legal documents. People of the first colonies threw riots because this tax was different because most taxes before where trade taxes and this tax affected people who wanted to publish documents. Leader Samuel Adams and the other members of The Sons Of Liberty, took a stand by fighting for the right not to be taxed by a government other than their own.
Formation of the Sons of Liberty
The Stamp Act
The Rights of Colonists by Samuel Adams

The Greensboro Sit-in (Room A) Ashlie -On February 1, 1960 Franklin McCain, David Richmond, Joseph McNeil, and Ezell Blair sat down at Woolworth’s counter in Greensboro, North Carolina and were denied service simply because of their skin tone.They remained in their seats for hours and didn’t leave so they could protest racial discrimination and take a stand for civil rights.
NC Digital Collections Greensboro Sit-ins
UNCG Digital Collections: Greensboro Sit-ins
Sitting for Justice-Historical essay

Earth Day (Gaylord Nelson) (Room A) ClaireGaylord Nelson was an American Senator for Wisconsin. He worked towards environmental causes. Other members of Congress didn’t agree with his ideas. So he turned to the American people to help the environment because they were interested in helping the earth. He proposed that April 22 be Earth day to the public and because of all of their support, it forced the members of Congress to consider approving his idea. In 1969 Gaylord Nelson finally got Earth day approved
Gaylord Nelson Earth Day Collection
Letter from Nelson to Dr. Frank Stanton
**Pearl Pohl Papers, 1928-1981-Box 2, Folder 9
**John W. Kole Papers, 1960-1989​-Box 4, Folder 15
Gaylord Nelson and Earth Day-web site

Strange Fruit (Room B) Heidi-Billie Holiday debuted “Strange Fruit” in an 1939 performance at Cafe Society, New York's first integrated nightclub. The song was originally a poem that stood up against racism. Her record company didn’t like “Strange Fruit”, which was a powerful song about the lynching of African Americans in the South.
*David Susskind Papers, 1943-1975, Box 58, Folder 3
Billie Holiday Plants the “Strange Seeds” of a Civil Rights Movement
Chapter 1 of Strange Fruit:Billie Holiday, Café Society, and an Early Cry for Civil Rights
Photos of Holiday
The Strange Story Of The Man Behind 'Strange Fruit'​-NPR Segment
***Warning: this link contains images of murder victims***An Iconic Lynching in the North (images and history of the lynching that inspired the poem/song)

Dr. Seuss (Room B) Heidi
Political Cartoons of Dr. Theodor Seuss Geisel
The 100 greatest Americans of the 20th century a social justice hall of fame / Peter Dreier- eBook chapter (See Dropbox link at top of guide)
DB-Theodor Suess Geisel- Ebook
The Political Dr. Seuss- Independent Lens and Online Guide
Radical Reading: The Progressive Dr. Seuss
Seuss Won't Shush
The Butter Battle Book
Irena Sendler (Room B) Jenna- In 1943, a polish nurse and social worker named Irena Sendler[owa] saved 2,500 Jewish children from the Warsaw Ghetto in Poland during the Holocaust.
Testimony of SS Men at Treblinka Concentration Camp
Photo of Dr. Adolf Berman delivering speech-Berman was affiliated with Zegota and the Central Committee of Polish Jews
Code name Żegota : rescuing Jews in occupied Poland, 1942-1945-UWM Libraries Stacks (Call Number: D804.6 .T65 2010)
Jewish Virtual Library​
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
"H. CON. RES. 361, A RESOLUTION COMMEMORATING THE LIFE AND ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF IRENA SENDLER"
News articles (contemporary) located in Dropbox (see link at top of the guide)

Sherman M. Booth (Room A) Christel -Sherman Booth, abolitionist editor and leader, he played a basic part in the antislavery movement in Wisconsin. In 1854, Booth was arrested for violating the Fugitive Slave Act when he helped to rescue black fugitive Joshua Glover. Booth appealed to the Wisconsin Supreme Court, which ruled the 1850 federal law unconstitutional.
*Sherman M. Booth Family Papers, 1818-1908- Box 10 (finding aid contains links to digitized content)
1897 News Article "Booth's life in jail"​
Sheman Booth Portrait
Sherman Booth- A Wisconsin Radical
Joshua Glover And the End of Slavery-Wisconsin Media Lab Production
The public life and private affairs of Sherman M. Booth / by Diane S. Butler.​

The Boston Massacre (Room B) Belle-We are doing our project on the Boston Massacre, when the Americans and the British soldiers started a massacre. The Americans and the British soldiers were very fed up with each other.
The Boston Massacre
Perspectives on the Boston Massacre
A short narrative of the horrid massacre in Boston, perpetrated in the evening of the fifth day of March, 1770-UWM Libraries Stacks (Call Number: D804.6 .T65 2010)

Alice Paul (Room A) Christel-In Alice Paul picketed at the white house for women suffrage.
Today in History Article-Includes embedded images and links to other sources
Biography
Alice Paul Oral History Interview
Alice Paul Describes Force Feeding
Who Was Alice Paul-Includes embedded images
Alice Paul and the American Suffrage Campaign / Keene, Michael L. Adams, Katherine H.- eBook chapter (see Dropbox link at top of guide)
Alice Paul, the National Woman's Party and the Vote / Bernadette Cahill- eBook chapter (see Dropbox link at top of guide)
The 100 greatest Americans of the 20th century a social justice hall of fame / Peter Dreier- eBook chapter (See Dropbox link at top of guide)

1936 Olympics (Room B) Jenna -In 1936 The summer Olympics were held in Berlin Germany. During this time was the most racist time in history. Their were 18 African American and multiple Jews vs Hitler and the Nazi's.
The Nazi Olympics Berlin 1936- includes links to film footage and images
NY Times Articles (8)- available in Dropbox (see link at top of the guide)
Official  1936 Olympic Report 
Summer 1936 Olympic Highlights 
Jesse Owens: A Chilly Reception in Nazi Germany, Then Olympic Glory
Jesse Owens Collections-includes PDF of Owens' Olympic Diary

Ronald Reagan (Room B) Jenna-The Soviet Union wanted to spread communism all over the world, but the United States stood in their way. For forty four years(1947-1991), the United States and the Soviet Union fought in the Cold War. Both sides built up their military to try to over power the other side.Both sides spent millions powering up their military. The Russian economy was not very good, which this lead to the Soviet Unions to go broke so the United States won the war.
Berlin Wall Speech - President Reagan's Address at the Brandenburg Gate - 6/12/87- Youtube Video (presented by Reagan Library)
Several Conversations/Summaries of Meetings between Reagan and Gorbachev
Presidential Speeches​
National Security Directives

Thomas Paine (Room B) Belle-Thomas Paine was a writer in the mid 17 hundreds and wrote many books about slavery the American revolution and the French revolution.
America in Class - Thomas Paine
Original text of Common Sense, The American Crisis, and The Rights of Man
The Writings of Thomas Paine (1791-1804)​
Thomas Paine-Historical essay
On This Day- Writing Common Sense

Nikola Tesla vs George Westinghouse (Room B) Tiffany-In the 1890s Nikola Tesla took a stand against George Westinghouse to be the first successful man to invent alternating current and created a battle known as the war of the currents
Tesla-Master of Lightening- include links to patents and interactive online learning modules
The times., October 21, 1894, Page 2
DB The inventions, researches and writings of Nikola Tesla
Wichita Daily Eagle- 19th century achievements, electricity 
George Westinghouse Biography
DB Nikola Tesla & the Taming of Electricity / Lisa J. Aldrich- eBook
Tesla: The Wizard Who Electrified the World- eBook Chapter (see Dropbox link at top of guide)

Rachel Carson (Room A) Claire-Rachel Carson, an environmentalist and author, published a book called “Silent Spring” in September 1962. The book took Miss Carson over four years to write and challenged the use of chemicals and pesticides, specifically the use of DDT.
Yale University Rachel Carson Materials
National Fish And Wildlife Carson Collections
Chatham University Carson Collection- Mostly photos and book covers, links to other sources
Rachel Carson - Silent Spring Virtual Exhibit 
Rachel Carson and No Birds Sing​- Radio segment
Silent spring / by Rachel Carson ; drawings by Lois and Louis Darling.-UW Milwaukee Stacks  SB959 .C3  
The 100 greatest Americans of the 20th century a social justice hall of fame / Peter Dreier- eBook chapter (See Dropbox link at top of guide)

Eleanor Roosevelt Women's Rights (Room B) Heidi-She stood up for women's rights to vote. She spoke about women’s rights all over the United States of America.
Photo Library
Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project
Selected Digitized Correspondence 
"My Day" Column Archive
American Experience Online Companion
Assessing Eleanor Roosevelt as a Feminist

Helen Keller's travels around the World (Room B) Jenna-Helen Keller made life better the disabled all over the planet not only showing that she was equal, but traveling around the world to show that other disabled members of society were equal. She accomplished this by touring across the globe to speak for those who had been wronged. She started this tour with Polly Thomson in a trip to Japan in April of 1938.
Helen on Helen Historical Essays on Japan Trip Pt 1 and Pt 2
"Helen Gets A Dog in Japan"
Helen Keller Correspondence
Image Archive​
Helen Visits Japan -Youtube video presented by the American Foundation for the Blind
Helen Keller’s Civil Diplomacy in Japan in 1937 and 1948​
Photo of Helen Keller’s 1937 visit to Gifu school discovered

Father Groppi (Room A) AbbiFather James Edmund Groppi was a Roman Catholic Priest who fought for civil rights, such as the segregated housing in the city of Milwaukee, Wisconsin between 1966 and 1969.
March On Milwaukee Digital Collection-Contains primary sources and reference material
**James Groppi Papers, 1956-1989-Box 18, Folders 1, 2, and 3; Box 15- Activities Series
Audio recording, 200th night of marching
Father Groppi- Historical Essay
The Fight for Fair Housing